April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Poke

by Crowbeak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How many can you poke before the time runs out?

UPDATE # 2:There's a Mac OSX app now! ^_^ Steve Johnson helped me get that working. Next stop: windows .exe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#184Humor2.97
#653Audio2.53
#1032Fun2.43
#1068Innovation2.34
#1090Mood2.27
#1104Overall2.61
#1259Graphics2.00
#1308Theme2.34

Comments

tnovelli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

nooooooooooooooooo potato!!!

Check out html5 and webGL... python is a PIA.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

There's not a huge replay potential here, but those sound effects and goofy graphics had me laughing out loud, enough to keep me interested anyway. I scored 127.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

Sorry, couldn't get it to run. I love the potato with real eyes, though - very funny idea.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

tnovelli: Yeah... Python is just what I had to work with. I'm planning to do spend the next four months learning to use something else.

Cosmologicon: There really isn't replay potential, no. xD I had fun making the sound effects, though, so I'm glad you like them. :D

DaveDobson: Sorry to hear that. >_< I'm glad you like the potato eyes, though... that was the idea that led to the game in the first place. xD

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

Sorry, couldn't get it to run even with Python and Pyglet ><

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49am

karsyf: Can you tell me what sort of errors you got?

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

I'm using python 3...sadly not working... =(

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

pyglet does not run on Python 3, so it can't work.

Misael.K says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

Managed to run the game in Windows 7 64 bits after doing a "pip install pyglet" and disabling sounds in "resources.py". Apparently there's a problem with the AVBin library, which pyglet uses to play sounds.
The game: simple, perhaps too simple. This reminds me of an old Windows 3.x game where you have to squash bugs in similar fashion.

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

could not get it to run on osx sadly

robmozart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Ah, a fellow Pyglet user.

It works on OS X 10.8.3. You just have to make python run in 32-bit mode, because AVBin does not like 64-bit.

py2app makes it easy to create an executable for Mac.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

py2app did not make it easy to create this executable. It failed spectacularly and gave me no errors I could follow as to why.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Any chance you can give instructions how to compile? :) The screenshot caught my attention, I want to play it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Potato.

sigfig says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

hi! i can't get your game to run sorry. downloads for pyglet are down. you should include your dependencies with your release!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

ddionisio: If I knew how to make it compile, I would have exe files available for Windows 7 and OSX. :(

sigfig: Oho! That I can do.

Beanalby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Installed pyglet manually, errored with:
pyglet.media.riff.WAVEFormatException: AVbin is required to decode compressed media

Tried downloading pyglet.msi from http://www.pyglet.org/download.html, running says "You must be running Python 2.4 or later". I'm running Python 2.7. Oh well.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09am

orz

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

This is twisted, but yet so fun :). Hard part was to get it working, but other that that, everything went smoothly.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Is the game is to compile the game ? If yes, it's very challenging, good job !

Seriously, I'm having problem to compile. Here python output :

"Traceback (most recent call last):
File "poke.py", line 3, in <module>
import resources
File "C:\Users\delas_j\Documents\ludumdare\resources.py", line 24, in <module>
ow = pyglet.resource.media("ow.mp3", streaming=False)
File "C:\Python27\lib\site-packages\pyglet\resource.py", line 610, in media
return media.load(path, streaming=streaming)
File "C:\Python27\lib\site-packages\pyglet\media\__init__.py", line 1406, in load
source = get_source_loader().load(filename, file)
File "C:\Python27\lib\site-packages\pyglet\media\__init__.py", line 1387, in load
return riff.WaveSource(filename, file)
File "C:\Python27\lib\site-packages\pyglet\media\riff.py", line 201, in __init__
'AVbin is required to decode compressed media')
pyglet.media.riff.WAVEFormatException: AVbin is required to decode compressed media"

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

Fa-fa-fanfare<3

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

Masadow: You need to install avbin. >_> I forgot about that part.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03am

Mac users may have to run with "arch -i386 python poke.py", possibly using the Python from python.org (not the system Python, which is only 64-bit). Alternatively, you could try distributing with pyglet 1.2alpha.

Anyway, I was thoroughly entertained. :-D

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:39am

score of 52.

go team potato!

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

Always move back towards the center before the screen changes. That's the trick to good potato eye popping.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

Pros: potatoes! (or, one)
Cons: A bit simplistic.

Python is actually a nice language but in LD being able to deploy to various targets (as well as web) helps a lot. I would recommend Haxe and NME, works like a charm. =)

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Potato! Nice game, vey cool great job :D

May 8, 2013 @ 2:39am

All the flash-fades from white kinda hurt *my* eyes.

Crowbeak says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:46am

I originally had a mottled blue and white background, but I felt like it didn't mesh with the single-color of the potato and pupil-less eyes. The file is still included in the source distribution because I didn't think to take it out. ^_^;

daniel2357 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:30am

Don't have Mac OSX

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:20am

Nice incorporation of a potato. The game was pleasant and short. Not much replay value. The ending fanfare was funny :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]