April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RUNNERIST

by BumbleBirds - Jam Entry

Run as far as you can, as fast as you can! Don't stop for any reason!

We tried to make an entire game using only 1 button (space) and a very limited colour palette.

Newgrounds: http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/616595
Kongregate: http://www.kongregate.com/games/BumbleBirds/runnerist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Fun(Jam)3.88
#29Overall(Jam)3.94
#32Audio(Jam)3.91
#64Graphics(Jam)4.09
#106Theme(Jam)3.74
#231Mood(Jam)3.08
#349Innovation(Jam)2.73
#1934Coolness14%

Comments

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12am

Looks nice, but I was having issues with the controls. For me at least, they were just sluggish enough that I couldn't do it.

ignifluous says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37am

This, this is seriously swish. Nice.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39am

Really nice fun platformer. Keeps you addicted until you have enough willpower to eventually break away. Really nicely done!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01am

Nice one!, very addictive. I wasn't expecting the inverted version, surprising.

Kvisle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02am

Really pretty stuff, and a nice execution. I gave up at level 3 - record 33 seconds.

finefin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

looks nice, plays nice. very good game with a *twist* ;)

noddy2006 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

The inversion thing was great - I loved how that metaphor continued over to the music. Great fun overall!

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33am

I'm glad I wasn't the only one making endless runner. Good job. Very well done.

Shigor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39am

Great music, but I just don't have reflexes for this kind of game, always crashed into wall after few obstacles

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:41am

Awesome looking game with cool mechanics ;).

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

This is very nice. My only gripe is that I don't like that the player can collide with the top of the screen, it makes it much harder. But its really nice overall.

NuSan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

Very good, a simple but fun game, and beautifull mood.

dissonance says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Very clean looking game. My only gripe was how I had to plan my jumps so far from the object just to make sure I'd be able to make it and anything that came after. Good job though!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

It looks and plays just awesome!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Awesome game! Challenging AND addicting, what more can one want! <3 LOVE IT! One of my favorite games in the this jam!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Great game, on a game like this though the controls have to be PERFECT and while you guys are crazy close it was occasionally sluggish on responsiveness. Otherwise no complaints whatsoever with this game, great job. (Made it back to red BTW)

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Near 5/5 in all, this game still a fucking good One, Goog Job guys

atraxgames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51am

Really fast paced!

lekochen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:51am

So slick and addictive.

May 6, 2013 @ 9:09am

Holy fuck.

xandy says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:29am

after pressing space in the loading screen, the game gets black :(

pjchardt says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:22am

Nice. Really like the switch from red to blue. Very addictive game. Controls felt solid.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]