April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Balls!

by pknowles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: Requires WebGL and OES_texture_float extension, implying a supporting graphics card. Apologies to those who can't run it. Tested in firefox, chrome, on an ATI 5850, NV 680 and NV 9600.

The game consists of three balls revolving around a sphere. Cubes are crashing into the balls and will destroy them unless you manipulate resource production to give better defences.

The only controls are sliding three arrows to direct resource flow (mouse over the HUD to see them). In general, more military (red) gives better defences short term but you'll need resources feeding back to survive longer.

The indirect and minimal interaction gameplay and simply lit white spheres and cubes was my take on minimalism, along with the r,g,b colour coding.

Also Note: My webserver died half way through :( so I lost all my high score code. I'll add this during the week but for now there's a rather unsatisfying alert().
EDIT: fixed post-comp

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#397Graphics3.26
#599Innovation3.07
#791Humor1.93
#877Audio2.14
#1104Overall2.61
#1125Mood2.21
#1268Fun1.94
#1291Theme2.42

Comments

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02am

OES_texture_float is missing :( Sounds interesting though.

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53am

wooo lasers!

Took me a minute to work out the GUI but the instructions are clear and concise. Amazing work, especially given the target platform

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

does get very easy once you have missiles.

pknowles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I finally got access to my high score php and swapped out the annoying alert().

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Delightfully abstract. Fascinated by the use of WebGL (runs well in Chrome on my 2010 Macbook), gonna bookmark this to have a peek at the source code later! :)

MTO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

interesting little strategy game, +1 for webgl

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

looks like it has great potential, but its hard to understand. and things are abit arbitrary; no goal in mind

very nice graphics, i like the concept too

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

I think it needs some balance, I've just set the priorities and then just watched and watched.

But very good idea for the minimalistic strategy

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

I tried but I just could not figure out how to read the UI. I read the instructions plenty and messed with the sliders but all those number readouts never made final sense to me.

I enjoyed the sound of the lasers blowing up the falling cubes. I kind of wish the UI widget in the bottom left wasn't so huge and taking up so much of the screen so I can watch my orbiting cities more. :)

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

I had a hard time figuring out the UI, it felt very cluttered. I liked the idea of setting the different ratios, if that's what was intended, I'm not sure. I also believe som balancing and feedback from your actions could benefit this game, as the game ran pretty well on its own.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Looks good although I don't know about objects casting shadows onto the sun - pretty sure it doesn't work that way!

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I really like this one. The resource system is very cool, and reminds me of some ideas I've had for circular resource allocations (and makes me want to try some more!). The framerate got pretty bad after a little while (running in Chrome on OSX) but I thought your graphics and visual composition were very effective. My only suggestion is to add some clearer indication of how well you're doing, or what your strength in each of the categories is relative to the wave you're on. I can't tell whether I'm good at this or whether it's just easy? It's certainly fun, though. Great job!

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

...also, a way to toggle the sound would be nice, since I ended up 'setting and forgetting' this and just watching it run for awhile.

pknowles says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Thanks all for your feedback! Some very good points made. There are certainly some strategies to get a better score but I'll have to do some balancing to make your actions have more of an impact and certainly give better visual and GUI feedback. The GUI should really be always-visible linear sliders with popup info text. Military perks are all on a log scale which should be reflected in this.

Perhaps not the most physically correct sun-like sphere. If only I had time to add some bloom and volumetric shadows :P One shadow map and a non-emissive sun material sold me on this one. Actually, surrounding the sun in particles was a last minute coincidence - all particles initially spawned at the origin and I liked the look.

One last thing - pressing tilde "~" (at least on a US layout kb) gives you a little bit more information I neglected to show in the GUI.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Looks pretty damn awesome, although I had no idea what was going on before reading all the descriptions ;)

ecool377 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:18am

cool game

domrein says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

IHaveNoIdeaWhatImDoingDog.jpg

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]