April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal

by MegaBrutal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimal DOS game in x86 assembly.
Post-Compo Update, V1.0.

Read my journal for details! (There should be a link below.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#769Theme3.32
#964Innovation2.54
#1220Mood1.89
#1295Overall2.20
#1312Graphics1.74
#1316Coolness47%
#1330Fun1.52

Comments

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

I got it running with DOS box. I wasn't sure what you had to do though.

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

At the beginning I did not understand how to run it (got an error), but after downloading DOS box (thanks Paul Sinnett), I was able to run it. I find it really nice that you wrote that in assembler, (this is the first game I see in assembler in this Ludum Dare). I will try to read the code and hope I'll understand. I understand that the only thing you do is eating those characters right ?

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Clever little bit of programming! Shame it's unfinished and thus not quite a "game" yet...

Jonatron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44am

Kudos for writing it in x86 assembler. I like the way the subroutines are "cute"

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Congratulations on the choice of language, ASM is hardcore for a 48h entry, but perhaps you could have explored a bit more the concept by entering in the Jam and having another day.

Bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:07pm

It seems you made this using Linux, which only adds to the quirky awesomeness :-) Well done in assembly, it is inspiring me to try something like this one day. Very interesting.

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I love how it is so far, is there any chance you can continue this after the competition?

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:44am

Ok the code is clearly minimalist :)
But I have to rate a game ;)

berkano says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Definitely the smallest entry I've seen so far - 500 bytes!

Just needs a bit more gameplay. Nice job though.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:53am

Thanks for all the comments so far! :) This game is definitely not complete - maybe I should have worked on it for an additional day and submit it into the Jam. Originally it's intended to be a minimal roguelike game, but since you can't see your stats and can't die, it is hard to notice. :D

@DdlyHeadshot: I think I'll work on this further after the compo, 'cause it's fun to keep one's assembly expertise above a certain level - even if you don't actually use the ancient language otherwise, thus it has little practical advantage; assembly does great to the programmer's soul - I don't know who said that but it's true! ;)

@whitetigle: You are right, it was rather a coding amusement; gameplay was a secondary concern - I know it might not be the spirit of Ludum Dare, but I had fun anyway.

@berkano: It can be even smaller if you remove my signature text integrated into the .COM file - since it is never printed or referenced, it wouldn't affect the program. ;)

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Minimal coding for teh win :P

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:24am

I don't know what you mean when you say it might not be in the spirit of LD, this kind of thing is exactly what makes LD such a great competition, this is totally a successful entry!

Having worked very limitedly in ASM before, I am damn impressed you decided to use it for an LD entry. I wish there was more to the game itself but if you do continue to work on it I think that'd be amazing!

If you ever need some inspiration, Roller Coaster Tycoon was written mostly in ASM. Which still blows my mind! :D

MegaBrutal says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:31am

I'd just like to let you know that I'm working on a more polished version of the game - of course it will still be quite minimal, but still somewhat playable. For those who are interested, follow me on Twitter for updates!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:41am

Incredibly minimal, yush. Many points for participating in the LD using only assembly. That is impressive and the idea of making a game in assembly is scary.

MegaBrutal says ...
Jun 13, 2013 @ 3:03am

A Post-Compo version is up! \o/ It has quite an awesome extra feature: it can be booted directly from a disk, so it runs even without DOS! Check my journal entry & read the source code for details.

mohammad says ...
Jun 15, 2013 @ 4:34pm

This sucks for me because I have a 64 bit windows Assembly. Atlest make a DOS ROM emulator so some of us tech geeks can play it.

mohammad says ...
Jun 15, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Never mind DOS Box is a good enough emulator.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]