April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Line

by San - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Second Ludum Dare i do, and pretty happy of my choice of using GameMaker for this one. I've lost so much time last LD because of my poor coding skills.

So now, the theme Minimalism, the game Line. To be simple, this is my inspiration: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=skb2gKR7rOk a TV show i used to watch when i was young. I mix it with minimal gameplay (kind of 1D gameplay) and what get out of this is a One Button game called Line.

At title screen use arrows to choose between start and quit and enter to confim, in game, use space to change upside down and avoid obstacles. Speed progressively increase to the infinite and when you hit an obstacles, you go to the score screen. Simply Minimalistic. And yeah, the sounds are boring :D

Hop you'll enjoy.

My GF is credited for her support during this week end.

EDIT: I've had a html5 version very buggy and with less features.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Graphics3.70
#207Humor2.90
#308Theme3.80
#423Fun3.13
#482Audio2.82
#531Mood2.91
#553Overall3.17
#1024Innovation2.43
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

stigmawall says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Ohhh sounds like a great game.

beshr says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I'm trying to download the game on my Mac but your link on Google Drive seems to be linking to the content of Line.app (Contents, etc..). I had to add the file to my Google Drive to be able to download it.

Great game though :)

San says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Mac link is fixed, thanks guys

Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:31pm

It seems like I can't quit in the regular way (Windows version). Still a pretty nice game!

San says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Yeah, I know this, will try to fix it asap. You can still quit the game from the main menu.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Great game, I love this line monochrome artsyle :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

Great! Lovely use of theme.

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

Nice game!

it's funny I played/judged a similar game just before.
I liked the music on the other game more but your graphics are way cooler.
I love the concept that everything is connected line.

Good job! :)

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Sounds are stupidly funny :D I loved them.
Sadly, the background changing color hurts my eyes when I was focused on those damn furnitures !
Cool arcade game with a touchy gameplay.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50am

Perfectly on theme, simple mechanics, flattering art and interesting sound effects.

raarlac says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

Fun game. Sometimes the line is difficult to see because of the BG color. Theme is good.
Max score: 33031000 :)

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

That's a great game! Fun, good sounds (they make a kind of music), good graphics (except for the main character - he seems to be running backwards). And minimalistic.

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

Cute! Nice and simple and I liked the rate of acceleration, just about right to stop it getting boring.

Totally minor point, but there's a couple places where shapes weren't actually connected to the line (like the floating heart on the chest of drawers and the TV screens) which feel like they slightly break the aesthetic of it.

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

realllllly awesome cool minimal visual style, but reaaalllllyy stupid sounds. i kinda wish you did more with this idea than just a canabalt-type run until you die thing, but it works alright.

Leoche says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Fun runner

Nekith says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06am

Linea was great !

Runners aren't my favorite genre but yours is very nice. Great work !

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:38pm

too simple, but nice graphics

davidpeter says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Great idea on the shifting background; it made the game harder and more interesting than it would have been otherwise.

xandy says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

reminded me of http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=20641 ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]