April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Psycho German Shepherd

by FlashRocks - Jam Entry

The character is actually modeled after my puppy ;)

Controls should be self-explanatory: Space to shoot, arrows to move, "r" to reload.

This was a team collab:
-FlashRocks, programming, design, sound FX (generated by cfxr)
-Matthew Petry (fire219), Art, design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#226Humor(Jam)2.32
#434Audio(Jam)1.79
#474Fun(Jam)2.27
#504Theme(Jam)2.43
#509Mood(Jam)1.87
#538Graphics(Jam)1.95
#547Overall(Jam)2.14
#551Innovation(Jam)1.60
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

Interesting. I think this would have worked better if the scale was smaller - zoomed up the way it was in this game made the graphics suffer more than they needed to.

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Do you mean just make the enemies themselves smaller?

cadin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Funny.

I had fun playing it for a few minutes.
I think a taller screen would help. Then you would have more time to move and aim. As it is now it's almost too late to do anything by the time the enemies appear on screen.

I thought the dog was a mongoose (because of the snakes)...

aare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

Oh... those are snakes... well...

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

There's something insane about this game I really like. The wall of random creatures, the strange English. Honestly my favorite so far.

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

@cadin

Thanks

@aare
Supposed to be squirrels...

@ronsho
XD Thanks ;)

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:00am

nice, but a bit too simple.

Nick Cash says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:10am

Could use a little more polish. The difficulty scaling was a bit lacking. Needs some music. Aliens wouldn't hurt.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]