April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

What Would You Do?

by Psytew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thanks for playing the game, if you do. It fits quite well with the theme, being a mere text adventure. It features nine endings, and if you want to truly understand the whole plot, you need to find them all! It's not particularly hard, but keep a pen by you to write down the code for the true ending. Thanks again!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#28Theme4.31
#261Mood3.25
#306Innovation3.44
#389Humor2.50
#546Overall3.18
#595Fun2.94
#1321Graphics1.63

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30am

A game made in .bat, I have never seen this before... There are a few bugs, I encountered, such as:

echo 1.) Meet with him in person.
echo 2.) Go to the robbery site.
echo.
set /p var=Set Command:
if %var%==1 goto RobberySite
if %var%==2 goto Meethiminperson

Otherwise everything worked just as planned, I didn't get a good ending however.

Skye says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I like the .bat aspect of it. Very minimal

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Interesting story. I accitentily sent a robber away free on my first try.. at least I think he's a robber. Oops.

srimech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I played through a couple of times. I think this is the most engaging batch file I've played! It's nicely written.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I love this game. I love it so much. Please make twelve sequels.

QXD-me says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

I quite liked it for the most part. Some of the more serious parts seem to have been handled a little heavy-handedly but on the whole it was good.

One bug I noticed: the reaction to the choise talk to him in person or go to robbery site is backwards

reheated says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Nice writing and I like the way the 8 different sequences all build up pieces of the truth. And I'm impressed that you would torture yourself by making a game in a bat file. (BTW, "Questionbussiness" and "TrueEnding" labels are broken.)

Psytew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Thanks to everyone who pointed out the bugs- It should be fully fixed by now. It was just a mixing up of numbers and colons, but again, thank you.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Full points for theme.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

5 star use of the theme. .bat files are awesome. Doesn't seem to handle backspace though... Or maybe it's just the bug someone else pointed out with the wrong choice-number mapping. If that's the case, the bug still exists.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

good job man.. bat :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I don't have windows :(

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Very minimal, I'll give you that.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

I did the ending number 5, i dont know if won xD.... but nice story bro :D and also nice work on using the .bat files :D

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Neat idea for the theme for sure. I like narrative games.

Sometimes a little hard to read due to the wall of text.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

Definitely very well done, and I had to play through every time to get the good ending and solve it all :) Super creative, loved it!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23am

I no longer am on windows so I can't play the batch file. That said, I remember hacking together an actual full-on application in .bat decades ago. Just seeing this really took me back in time.

Kudos on you. Maybe one of my friends has a windows machine to run this on?

vinull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

This is a great idea for the theme, a text adventure in a .bat file!

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:15am

Fits theme perfectly!

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:16am

Bonus poitns for doing this in .bat
Writing was so-so, but overall I enjoyed the game.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Awesome that you made a .bat file. I had to finish the story and see what was really happening. Well written, I am impressed!

dem0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:14pm

When I chose to go to the robbery site it went to meet the robberer in person. Otherwise, a nice text adventure and truly very minimalistic!

raoz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24pm

That was fun.

vico87 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Great game! Minimalistic, several choices and endings, fun to play.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Oh my gosh. This game is the best thing ever. I want to play this game forever and have my children play it one day. I must have more. I must.

Brunodev says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:39pm

It fits the theme well. Also, awesome that you made it in a bat!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]