April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Minimal Conflict

by sboerwinkle - Jam Entry

For windows users: Use the web version. It's in java.

For Linux users: Don't know why the web version isn't working... Use my original (less processor hungry) version in C. Requires SDL and SDL_gfx, which are easily "apt-get install" able.

Instructions ingame.

Sincerely hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#279Theme(Jam)3.23
#443Innovation(Jam)2.36
#474Fun(Jam)2.27
#479Mood(Jam)2.19
#504Overall(Jam)2.45
#529Graphics(Jam)2.05
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

can't run it without a windows port, look forward to it.

Zhrack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27pm

need a windows port!

manax says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

I did that in ld23, linux game, thought about porting it, but instead tried LLVM to cross compile to javascript. Ran into a couple of difficult issues, ended up learning javascript AND porting the entire thing in about the same amount of time as my original entry took.

So, my suggestion? Learn javascript. :)

(I will try it, just not right now.)

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Quite minimal, but also pretty playable.

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

Really Nice bit difficult to tell what was going on, but fun

Norgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:36am

Kind of mini-MOBAy. Not being able to aim your shots and knowing that they're going to miss because they don't auto-lead was a bit frustrating in places, but it does work as a game.

joekinley says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:40am

The aiming thing was really frustrating. Oftentimes I was near a red thing but it kept shooting in a different direction. That was really annoying. Also it didn't seem to shoot every time I hit space. It just felt that I was not in the control of shooting whatsoever.

This thing really took the joy out of the game. It seemed like a nice idea with these war mechanics. Nicer graphics would really add to the appeal. Also some sounds. But it was okay.
Just the aiming thing was a deal breaker here. Sad. Because it really looked potential.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Neat game. I wasn't sure how the aiming worked at first but it seemed like I just shot at the closest target. It was sometimes hard to tell which ball I was controlling because the color was so similar. Does the game just go on forever?

-Strega

(this is a team account)

NateNaterson says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Neat! Liked the concept of only controlling one of the players on your team. Wasn't a fan of having to rely on the AI though, it tended to make the game outcome very random. :(

Aceria says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Unfortunately it wouldn't start when I pressed Enter.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]