April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bleed Or Die

by Priapus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After some jams with friends this is my first compo entry. I usually do art so I'm not used to a lot of this coding. Therefor it's not as finished as past LD's. Sound & music for example didn't make it...
Next time better!
(Won't be too hard I think ;)

Simple controls: WASD/Arrows to move and click to attack, or you can use a gamepad. :)
Only one level here, it's done when you defeat the second type of enemy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Graphics3.80
#1178Theme2.74
#1281Overall2.26
#1313Innovation1.78
#1320Fun1.63
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

I really like the character art in this. A lot(minus the fire wizard, was totally not expecting that). The game feels unfinished. I hope your coding skills increase to the level of your art, and you win a LD.

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I like this kind of aesthetics.

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Congratulations for your own first game! Minimalism is very well implemented in the art. Keep creating your own games and finish this as a practice in programming!

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Amazing graphics! Wish it was finished. Looks quite promising. You should flesh it out.

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

i walked left and found a blue background, and the meaning of life too.

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Nice character work and arts! Make sure you finish this. :)

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:47am

The characters and animations in this are great, attacking feels a little unpolished but overall good job.

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29pm

The game has quite a lot of potential.
For a further development I would like to see some parallax in the background, maybe some procedurally generated noise (instead of the static one). And a little bit more of control! :)

But yes, for a 48 hours game it is pormising! :-)

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:39am

I reallly like graphics. A good begining you should try to finish with narratives.

reverso13 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:24am

Nice, i miss one button for a shield or something to block.

Grouflon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Nice graphics (kind of "limboesque") but a very limited gameplay according to me and no innovation in the game concept. The animations are very sweet. It seems you worked a lot on the graphics and not so much on the idea of the game.

someone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Excellent character work.
The combat felt lacking though. At least needs blocking or dodging.

Jim Haslett says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:19am

I LOVED the art! The controls were a bit lacking. The 'A' key didn't do anything, so I had to use the arrows.

Brunodev says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Awesome game and art! You should totally finish it!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:56am

not really fun but the artwork was great -- nice effort

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]