April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tale of MiniMale

by finefin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

no preloader, yet. sorry.

you can grab the music here https://soundcloud.com/justfinefin/transform-this

Tools used:
- Adobe Flash CS5
- SFXR
- NanoStudio


EDIT:
I was too tired yesterday night. So here's some blah blah:
This is my very first LD entry. I was thinking about making an LD game for a long time now and I'm glad that I did it, finally!

This game took about 10 hrs to make, with many real life interruptions. I had a strange sickness lately and I'm kinda frustrated because things I used to love taste like shit now. HOW DO ONE MAKE GAMES WITHOUT COFFEE?!?!

So to compensate this frustration I needed to create some gory shit. To be honest: most of the time I worked on that splatter engine. I use bitmap blitting to display the floor to make the game perform nicely even if you have killed hundreds of enemies.

The first idea was to make a game where you win when doing nothing (minimalistic gameplay)... but then I decided to have different endings depending on how you play, "do nothing" is just one of them, and to follow the theme, there is no "winning" ;)

So have a look, I hope you like it!


EDIT 2:
A small update to adress what has been written in the comments:
- you can skip the intro now
- the text popups are now properly displayed
new version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4175049/LD48/taleOfMiniMale_v021.swf

I will keep the main link (Web) to link to the original LD48 release.

EDIT 3:
I uploaded a new version to kongregate
- preloader
- minor tweaks + fixes

Thanks for the great feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#60Humor3.61
#79Audio3.66
#152Mood3.49
#208Graphics3.65
#303Overall3.43
#478Fun3.07
#621Innovation3.04
#946Theme3.11

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

Oh my god, the people explode? How utterly macabre. I thought it was going to be like frogger, but it's like frogger on meth.

Panda313 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

I really liked the humor and the ambiance. But I didn't find it fun to play. However this is a nice try and still a god job

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

see if you can find all endings ;)

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

How does he take all those potatoes home without making them explode? Did the curse have a secret clause about potatoes? :)

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

good point. I guess it has something to do with the guy's DNA because he's a couch potato himself. :P

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Pretty interesting stuff, and I really enjoyed the writing. Somehow I missed the instructions about the arrows at first and tried to use the WASD keys. Oh well - at least that helped me find an ending I probably wouldn't have gotten otherwise ;)

How many endings are there, by the way? I found three...

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Well, first I didn't read the texts and just played along, thinking it's another violent game which I'm not very fond of. But, for the 2nd play, it was nice to notice it's at least sort of designed so that you're actually supposed not to touch others, so you can play it w/o the violent part. :)

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

I found three endings and enjoyed the whole thing. Great stuff!

Supermomo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Awesome !

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

This is a pretty funny game. Fun one too :). I got two endings :D.

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I got two endings. Restart button should skip the intro screens. Also some potato-related texts overlap. Otherwise neat!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Pretty disturbing but very funny. Nice work on the sound too.

numpad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Great game! Love the graphics and the humor at the begining (also the potato shop)!

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

Nice work... simple and surreal. Enjoyed the style.

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

I liked it! Figuring out what to do and then experimenting was fun. Graphics and music fit the grim theme.

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07am

That game kept me playing a long time, I love it. The narration at the beginning is just hilarious, great job, probably the funniest game so far :D

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Love style and story of the game. Are you going to make a sequel or any kind of continuation? I was a little bit disappointed the game was to short)

Mikel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Funny :-) 4 endings, are there more?

finefin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:51am

@Mikel & anatolat: you found them all, but I plan to add more actions and endings (before I submit it to kong + NG). I just need some time and muse.

finefin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:53am

(which is a rare good since my apartment is full of craftspeople right now...)

meszka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Nice mood and dark humor. The music was great :)

daniel2357 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:03pm

The introduction is very humristic . Nice music . I liked the game very much.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:46am

Not particularly fun, but other than that a great entry. Beautiful presentation and mood and it's pretty funny.

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Muahahahaa... That was crazy. Got four endings.
Was a little disappointed when it said "mostly" not killing anyone when I managed to not kill a single person.
Didn't actually see the countdown until my third playthrough.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:05am

Aww, this game makes me... have... feeeeeelings.

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Interesting game. Well done. :)

Sebastian says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:44pm

What a bizarre premise for a game lol!
I just kept bumping into people on the way to the potato shop. Creepy.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:07pm

It's a rather strange game but still, the graphics are well done, the audio is pretty nice and I love how you managed to inject some subtle humour into MiniMale's rather unfortunate backstory.

psc1997 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:27pm

"MiniMale made game for Ludum Dare" - haha :D
But.. This game is veery good :)
I loved that game! <3
Really BIG congratulations to You finefin ;-)

nathanj439 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Nice game. I liked the multiple playstyles and endings.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Found 3 endings so far!

I love the fact that if you decide to kill everyone, more people appear to kill! Brilliant :D

Enjoyed it, nice entry!

mtrc says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Lovely idea with the variables and ending.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]