April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lights

by corrigan_sam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The aim of the game is to keep the lights off, do not let all three turn on!
Click the light to turn it off when it comes on!

I hope you enjoy my little addicting game!

*I have fixed the typo in the death screen and the bug where you could die randomly!!*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#249Theme3.88
#806Audio2.26
#946Humor1.70
#1032Fun2.43
#1036Graphics2.39
#1090Mood2.27
#1110Innovation2.26
#1203Overall2.44

Comments

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

I like the game, but sometimes I seem to lose at random

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Yea, that can happen, its a bug which will be fixed :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice little game, I think you can't make it more minimalist ;)

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Simple little game. Just fix the random losing and it's good :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Yeah, I think I may have been randomly losing too. Or maybe I just can't perceive when the light is on or off.

Also, the game over message is a little odd: "You let MORE THAN 3 lights turn on"? Shouldn't that say "ALL 3"?

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Yea, It is a typo, i will change that, the rules allow it :D

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Fits the theme perfectly!

Sab says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Decent game, although like everyone else you can lose at random. Very minimalistic.

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Maybe a better feedback on the lighted state should improve the overall experience. Very minimalist with somethig quite strange, like participating to a psychocognitive experience. Thank you

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone, i have fixed the bug and typo, as the rules allow it :D

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Very minimalistic. Easy at first but gets a bit hard later. You could map the button to some keys and maybe add more squares while yo progress.

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

The only word to describe this is minimalist, good job!

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Well i wanted to keep this game as minimal as possible. It started with a hard mode, however it didn't really fit with the game, so i scrapped it. If i was continuing this game i would add buttons as well as mouse, as it would probably make it more of a casual game! Thanks for playing!!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Very minimalistic. It seems all three can be lit in one frame, so it's an insta-kill, which happened to my twice within the first 10 clicks, and then on 64th. I didn't notice the speed picking up either, which would have been cool, along with steadier lights :P

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Yea, There are a few issues, but i am happy with how it came out. I wanted to keep the game as close to them theme as possible. I also wanted to keep it very casual and peaceful, so i decided against a steady increase in difficulty :D

Spiridios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Very minimal gameplay. A difficulty ramp would be nice.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45am

I like how as simple as it is it still manages to get really frantic and tense. Good job!

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26am

Well, you sure fully embraced the theme like no other games I've seen on this compo, yet. Kudos to you for that :)
You could have mapped the 3 colors to some keys, and take the difficulty up a couple notches.

Congratulations! :)

errorage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

I kept missing the buttons, clicking outside the window. You might want to extend the edges of the program, so if a player overshoots the button while moving the mouse, they still click inside the program. I played up until I had 100 pointsusing a tablet, worked a lot better than with a mouse.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43am

Cool idea, I encountered a bug at the beginning where I lost twice in a row. It worked the third time and I got a score of 66. My only complaint is that it was a bit slow, I expected to go faster. Good luck ;).

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Well this surely is minimalistic :)

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Thanks guys for playing. I agree that it could increase in speed a little, but i wanted to keep the game as casual as possible :D Thanks for all the kind comments!

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Really minimalistic... but have you ever considered... adding more colors? (also random losing bug)

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I'm on a Mac and can't rate. Sorry :(

thephantom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:03am

great game and very innovative idea

corrigan_sam says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Sorry about the mac, next LD i will defiantly make a mac export

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Really minimalistic. Nice entry.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Cool idea! There is not enough contrast when a color is lit up. Maybe make the colors go from darker (or even black) to the full color, rather making it more white.

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:19am

I cheated. Touchscreen :D

ecool377 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:07am

cool

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]