April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Speed Square!

by infinitedog - Jam Entry

You are a Square!
You need to go to the portal to save yourself. Watch out! Circles, Triangles and Diamonds want to kill you!
Don't let them touch you and escape through the portal!

Arrow Keys: Movement
Space: Jump
P: Pause
M: Music Off (Not Sound Effects

Bonus: Level Editor
We created a custom level editor for this game. Check it out!
We didn't finished the "Export" function for our editor but you can still play your levels using the R key in the editor area.

(Requires Java7 for now. We will release Java 6 compatible version as soon as possible :D)

Update: We uploaded JRE6 compatible versions!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#275Graphics(Jam)3.17
#389Audio(Jam)2.27
#454Theme(Jam)2.68
#473Mood(Jam)2.26
#494Fun(Jam)2.21
#498Overall(Jam)2.47
#499Innovation(Jam)2.10

Comments

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Nice graphics. Mechanics hard to learn, thought...

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Wouldn't work for me. It opened, and I could see the menu and start the game fine, but once the game started I couldn't move the character and it was constantly jumping. Not sure why.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

@Tokken18 that's strange :/ Which version are you trying to play? The applet or the desktop version? Thank you! :)

lightsoda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice colors.

Lack of air movement, flying off edges and collision boxes a tad big makes this kinda tricky to play.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Wouldn't work for me. It opened, and I could see the menu and start the game fine, but once the game started I couldn't move the character and it was constantly jumping. Not sure why. +1

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice graphics but this game makes my firefox crash :(.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

The applet version is not working correctly in some computers, sorry, we are investigating in how to fix that.

Polar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Same as what cinnamonmelonpig said: I could open it, but beyond that, I couldn't control anything. If it helps, I tried both the Java 6 & 7 ones, with a Mac, Firefox and Java 7.something.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:37pm

The controls are a bit weird with no in-flight control, doesn't feel very intuitive. I also think your hitboxes are a bit too large which makes the game unfairly difficult. Your graphics are nice and the idea is there, just a few minor issues unfortunately. Good entry!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nice work. I liked the color choices and light up platforms. Getting the timing for jumping other shapes was quite tricky.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01pm

We are investigating the jump bug too!

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Great game, difficult!, but i like the puzzle :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:35am

Controls are a bit hard !

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Nicely tricky to play. Loved it!

mikeware says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Jumping and moving mechanics made it very hard to control the character. If I just tapped the key when I was on the edge of a ledge, I'd go flying across and then didn't have any control for my landing. With a few tweaks, I could get into this one a lot more.

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:40am

Nice graphics, interesting mechanic, clearly takes patience!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:16am

has potential but the collision boxes are too big -- its too hard to jump over the enemies, er triangles, er circles -- well -- you get it -- nice effort

Yoni says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I like your graphics, I love the "?"/"!" enemy, and... wow, is that a level editor? :D
Gotta respect the time you guys put into this :)

Btw - judging by the art, that's technically a cube.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]