April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Outside the Box

by GSM Productions - Jam Entry

Outside the Box, a short-ish JRPG :)

It waits quite a while before starting the actual game unfortunately, and it is maybe a bit on the harder side of things, but overall it should be playable, and the plot may even be intelligible! Have fun everyone!

Windows build available, but there are a couple of bugs (like WASD not working on the map, use arrow keys!). But normally you should be able to complete the game :)

Note : For Linux users, please avoid special characters in the folder where you decompress the game. There is a strange crash that occurs otherwise :s Sorry...

Item guide :
- Dragon Blood : Revives an ally
- Potion : Restores HPs
- Honey : Restores MPs
- Stone : Increases damages

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#211Graphics(Jam)3.44
#236Overall(Jam)3.24
#307Fun(Jam)2.81
#355Theme(Jam)3.06
#409Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

When will the build come? :) (I hope there's one for Win-32bit-versions)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

There you go, please tell us if anything goes wrong with it! :)

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Nice, but a very slow start. maybe some guidance, where to find the guys would be good at the start.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Thanks for the feedback! The idea was to have items placed around the maps (in particular the village) so that exploring it would have proven rewarding at least, but time and all that... ^^;

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I have a 32-bit Linux system and I can't run the game for you only included a 64-bit binary. :(

I remember following you during LD24 back in August. :D This time I couldn't follow you 'cause I was busy with my own entry. ;) (Which is unfortunately not finished, but it was fun regardless.)

May 5, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Finally, we have a 32 bit build for Linux. Sorry for taking so long, and hope you (and others) will enjoy the game!

Too bad you couldn't complete your entry, but assembly? Impressive feat. Will try it and give you some feedback :)

KHANanaphone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:52am

Wound up crashing when I tried going south outside of town, but still had a impressive amount of art/scripting. JRPGs have a lot of extra work you have to put into them which makes them really crazy to do in a short time.

May 6, 2013 @ 8:23am

Thanks for the feedback! Should have prevented players from going back south when on the first map, we completely forgot to check that! Thanks for playing in any case :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:10am

I also made a JRPG for LD26 :-) I have some feedback for y'all. Hitting escape quits without warning: I was hoping there was a menu to save my progress, instead it got wiped out. The dialogue is a bit long, it could be more... well, minimal, along with the starting town which has a lot of space and buildings but not much to do. Since you can't save, I had to blast the spacebar through each attempt. It crashes if you head south once you get on the overworld. It's hard to distinguish a bunch of three-letter names that begin with N. The battle with the big bee and two little bees wiped me out twice. There's a bug in the main menu: events will continue to be processed by the main menu after you make a selection, so if you click "new game" then "credits", it will take a while to start a new game but it will then go to the credits instead.

It's a lot of work you got done, though. I never implemented dialogue or towns, and my overworld is a straight line. I liked reading through your dialogue file in the source code.

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:27am

I had the same crash as KHANanaphone when trying to re-enter what I thought was the town after leaving through the hole.

The story was rather enticing, and reminiscent of Asimov's The Gods Themselves story, which is great because it pulled me along. The combat was good but it was weird to have my position reset after each battle, was that on purpose?

All in all, great work! I would love to see more :)

May 6, 2013 @ 10:19am

@Dietrich Epp : Thank you :) Just tried your game, really good one! The escape things is one of the bugs we found was still on the "to fix" list after we had published the game :o That's what being tired does...

The main menu thing we never got around to finding out exactly what it was. As for the dialogues, it was supposed to be a bit more spaced out, and there was supposed to be something more to do in the village, but we had to cut corners, same thing for why it crashes when you go back south : it was supposed to be possible, but we couldn't add it in time.

The names were playing on the idea that those guy are indeed almost the same, but with such a short time to get introduced to them all, it didn't quite gel.

For next time, something we definitely will focus on more is thinking about "restarting" right from the start. When we decided to see if we could, for example, restart the fight in case of a game over, the code was already not really thought to do that.

Thanks for all the comments anyway, and for reading the dialogs :D

@Cake & Code : That crash is really showing us we should have put the game into somebody else's hands. We almost never did that, so that bug was known, but we filed it as "detail", whereas it seems to be something people do quite consistently (and is logical, in fact).

Thanks for liking the story, one of us worked almost all weekend on it (writing dialogs, planning "cutscenes", ...), she will be very glad :)

The position reset thing happens randomly, and seems to happen more to some people, without any clear lead as to what in the code causes that. It is a complete mystery to us unfortunately :( But no, it is not intentional...

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:32am

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Neonlare says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Didn't really feel too in key with the theme, the presentation was nice and despite the really, really slow start it did pick up after a while. Did enjoy something different for a change from Ludum Dare!

entrusC says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Hmm ... it starts (slowly as announced) but after the dialog the screen just stays grey - nothing happens after that :(

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-open.c: 596: _dl_open: Assertion `_dl_debug_initialize (0, args.nsid)->r_state == RT_CONSISTENT' failed!

Rastagong says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Yeah, a JRPG, and a fellow Python developer! That must have been a lot of work, congratulations.

It was really nice. I loved the story and the art. Too bad there were quite a few bugs though (the crash at the bottom of the map, the random teleportations after a fight). It was pretty difficult too, I stumbled upon a kind of giant stag which bascially killed me with a single hit. :p

I'll try again ater, I'd really love to get to the end of the game.

Doublecaster says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:47pm

This was lovely game. Sometimes after the battle my location was reseted to where I entered the map.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:34am

I've tried the game - sorry for taking it so long, I know you posted up the 32-bit version a week ago, but meanwhile I got other stuff to bother with.

For some reason, the game crashes after I leave the town. :(

This is the error message I get on the terminal:
pyglet.resource.ResourceNotFoundException: Resource "draw_texture.png" was not found on the path. Ensure that the filename has the correct captialisation.

I'm running the Linux version.

The game looks promising; I like the music and art, and I'm curious of the story. Though the movement is quite inconvenient sometimes: it's hard to aim to the doors to get through them, sometimes it's not entirely clear where am I allowed to go through and where there is a wall blocking my way, and once I got stuck after I came out of a house.

May 18, 2013 @ 7:22am

@R

May 18, 2013 @ 7:26am

Oops...

@Rastagong : Thanks for the kind words! You are right, the bugs left in there are pretty severe, and the difficulty having being set by us means it was a bit too hard. I guess that is our main lesson this time : put your game into the hands of others.

@Doublecaster : Thank you, and sorry for that bug, we know it is really annoying.

@MegaBrutal : No problem! A version including that missing file is uploading right now, so if you want you will still be able to play it. And yes the tileset of the village is not really "readable". Hopefully it will be better outside of it XD

MegaBrutal says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:12pm

This new build is great, it didn't crash at that crucial point. :) Finally I played the game (though still couldn't finish it) and now I'm in hurry with my rating (only few hours left). ;)

Unfortunately, the game seemed to be too buggy to finish. :( It happened quite a lot of times that I got stuck in something - e.g. I was running too fast and rushed into the wall; and I managed to get stuck in Dude's carcass (that was the point where I gave up the game after quite a lot of tries). Also, at first I sucked at battles and got defeated like 4-5 times (don't remember the exact number). And a non-game-breaking bug: I think some dialog lines in the dialog with Dude gets titled to one of our N* guys - not sure, maybe I didn't pay enough attention.

On the other hand:
- I liked the story (though didn't get to the end but it seemed interesting);
- I liked the graphics - e.g. the Deliberately Monochrome color theme and the minimalisticc figures those still had enough character;
- The music fits well with the theme.
- All the above creates a unique feel to the game and it's really great. :)
- Bonus points for listing Lyra in the credits! ;)

Even though I couldn't finish the game now, I may certainly get back to it later. :) (Especially if you provide some bugfixes. :P)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]