April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries


by Xaychru04 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey !

This Ludum Dare was very interesting as I made a complete game, with musics and a working scene management. The theme helped me a little because doing a minimalist game avoided me to make fancy graphisms and the base of my game was ready at the end of the first day.

So basicly this game is about a blue square trying to collect yellow ones, avoiding the red ones.
You'll find more help about the game and the controls in the readme file in the archive.

Don't try to resize the window during the game, it will make the coins disappear...

Also the Mac app is a wrapper of the Windows version, so it's bigger and it takes a long time to load the game. But it finally works, thanks to Monoquartz (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/category/ld-26/?author_name=m0n0quartz) who helped me ;)

I hope you will enjoy this game ;)

Downloads and Links




San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Good answer to the theme, the music/sounds are really good, simple graphics, simple gameplay. What else?

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

Kinda fun, a bit repetitive. Audio was quite nice

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52am

This game just oozes minimalism, It's possible to get into unwinnible situations if you don't have the magnet though and that's really annoying

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

Thanks for playing !
I know I should have added more things but I was restricted by the 4x4 area which can be saturated rapidly.
As Xgor said, sometimes ennemies can block a coin in a corner as they appear at random positions, so the only way to get it is to have more than one life, or to have the magnet :/

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

Nice game, is possible to get into unwinnable situation which can be annoying.. but fun

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

Thanks for including the gameplay video. I might have called this one "Terror on the Dancefloor".

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40am

The music is great. And now anything I look at has a slight imprint of a grid.

attagcatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12am

I quite like it. The only issue is that the red squares hide behind the coins which gets a bit confusing.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

Super simple with great 8-bit mood, yet still fun and addicting.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

Can't play, OpenAL32.dll error. :(

steve says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Couldn't run it, missing openal32.dll.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I'm so stupid, I forgot to put it on the archive ><
Should be fixed now.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Having an issue with the mac app. Here's the full error output: http://pastie.org/7737471

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I uploaded an other version, I changed the save file location, but I don't know if it fixes the bug as the Mac port was working all the time from the beginning...
So I think that if you have other problems with the Mac port, I won't be able to fix them :/

Anyway, thanks for testing :D

CptBubbles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:15pm

This is a quite fun in a frustrating, addictive sort of way :) I also loved the sound effects.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Amazing game. Very simple an fits in with the theme perfectly.

An improvement would be to increase the items available in the shop. Encourages people to play longer then :D

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Wow, definitely worth the wait. Amazing game, really liked the music and art!

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm


LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Good game

ekuurh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

very nice game, would have rated 5/5 if i could :)
super-magnet pretty much wins the game, though. i just stand around in one of the four central spots and let everything come to me. if when another red guy comes i'm on his path, i move and keep waiting.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Thank you everyone very much for playing! :D

@Holofire: Adding objects to the shop was one of the things I wanted to do but then the game would have been saturated with objects (like bombs or p-ups), more difficult to understand and, of course, less minimalist. :p

@ekuurh: I know it's possible to just stand on a square and wait for the coins to be attracted, but I left it like that because after a lot of ennemies can appear and kill you.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Couldn't run it under latest OSX, the game seems to open but never starts to run.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Infortunately, I can't solve the problems I've with the Mac port because as I said, it's working fine on my Mac. So I'm sorry for that and I hope it will be better for the next LD ><

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Edit: Finally Monoquartz, a friend who has a Mac, wrapped the windows version into a Mac app, and it's working.
It's much bigger (60Mo), and the game is a bit long to load, but it works :D

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Liked the audio.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18am

Very amusing! Great audio!

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21am

Simple and fun and addicting!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Really fun! I love the simple arcade mechanic - its repetitive, but I love it for that!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37pm

NICE! More of this please. I would love to see some more upgrades and a bigger stage would be cool.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Pretty decent game. Very fast paced and the shop keeps you playing and holds your interest. Good job!

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Simple, yet awesome game, and it fits perfectly with the theme. Great work!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Really fun game!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17pm

A nice sort of rave-themed coin collecting game, the magnets make it a bit too easy but it still is a satisfying experience collecting the coins, and have a good sound effect and visual style to it to keep it interesting. Power-ups are a plus still, and it can be a fairly addicting title. Simplistic, but the style is really what is more interesting about it rather than how fun it is.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Fun. Music is supa cool. I wanna dance to it.

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:25am

Very addictive I couldn't stop playing and shop a good plus!
Great Game!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:57am

Great music and use of the theme. Pretty addictive gameplay, too - if you can find a good way to port the controls to a touch screen, I think this would make a great mobile game.

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Neat game, but the super magnet makes it very easy!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Great fit with the theme! I love the music and sounds. Also, it's quite mindless fun to just zip across the coins. Great work!

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Both concept and execution are great!

The music is awesome.
I do prefer playing it without any shop-items, even though there are places you cannot win at then end of the day. But hey, that's part of the deal.
Had great fun!

Thijsku says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:28am

Great concept! It's so simple, but very fun to play. Perhaps the magnets make the game a bit too easy, altough you still need to watch out for the red blocks! I loved the music.

Good job! :)

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:58pm

This is a really simple concept that's executed rather beautifully. This game is really addictive and the music is pretty awesome.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:26am

Simple, but surprisingly fun. The shop gave it replay value and I loved the soundtrack. Nice one!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:03pm

I felt hypnotized by the game, feeling an urge to play more and more. You did a good job.

Although, you managed to give the game a very frenetic pace thanks to the music and, well, the gameplay; yet you don't seem to reward speed skill too much. Maybe it would be great to have a "combo timer" of 1s or so, increasing each time you collect a coin within its range, and gaining extra coins & reseting to 0 when you fail to catch it, something like this, which would encourage the player to go faster and then hypnotize him even more.

Still, everything else is solid. Well done !

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]