April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sasu

by CoffeeOnimal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***PLEASE READ***
There's no tutorial and it's hard to understand so;

WASD moves you. Sorry Euro-keyboards, it's looked to that.

Right-Click the mouse for Mouse-look. Right click on the shojis to open/close. At the moment, there's nothing in the closet..

The Blue cubes are a quick hack of the AR system. When the Glyph shows up, you have a short time to engage Poke Mode. Press Shift. You then have until your power meter runs out to poke out all the squares in the shoji. Poke out all four panels to finish.

As always, my ambitions exceeded my reach, and I intended to have something of an Adventure Game part where you had to find clues to find the sword /poker. Oh well, post-compo version.

** CAVEAT **
--Edit May 1--
I've been thinking over the last few days about this entry and whether or not it qualifies as a Compo entry or more properly in the Jam.

More specifically, it has to do with comments regarding the quality of the art assets and rule #2:
"All game code and content must be created within the 48 hours."

I understand that the line between content generators is a bit fuzzy, and has been getting more lenient of late, but this is also why the Jam section was created.

I'm also aware that there's a feeling that tools such as Unity/GameMaker, etc go against the spirit of LD48 because they do a lot of heavy lifting for you.
Being primarily a coder myself, I can appreciate this "purist" mentality, and it was only when I saw how quickly I was able to build something that looked good in Unity with a much more streamlined approach that I converted. I'm not saying Unity makes the process easier, but rather that it makes the process far more orderly.

In context of my own entry's art assets, the room itself was built by me. The outside garden on the other hand was built using assets in Unity's Terrain Generator. My rationalisation for this was that because it's part of the Tool, it qualifies. Now I'm not so sure. To complicate my feelings, I've also used NGUI and Vectrosity, both of which are proprietary and therefore not included in my source code bundle.

I felt it was important to make this clarification, explain my justifications and leave the judgement to you to make. It is not my intention to rekindle the Great Middleware Debate or call out other developers for their content choices. This is my own choice and my own struggle.

As far as this entry goes, I will write it off as if not disqualified, at least asterixed. For my future entries, I will be holding myself to a more stringent set of standards, and until I can truly generate "all game code and content ... within the 48 hours", including graphics rendering, physics etc etc. Until I make it *all* myself, every part, I'll be entering in the Jam. Again, this is not a judgement on other developers/participants, nor a pronouncement on where the LD rules should fall, rather a personal Code of Conduct.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#66Graphics4.08
#651Mood2.78
#1025Audio1.61
#1080Innovation2.31
#1206Theme2.69
#1274Overall2.27
#1329Fun1.54

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29am

I had a great moment when ***SPOILERS*** I got out and looked around and stepped forward and noticed there was no collision detection :)
Thank you.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

Love the art assets. Well done!

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

Beautiful looking scene, especially the water effect. Game part was confusing - I got the runes to show up, and I think I created a tiny white cube, but I couldn't do anything with it. Really terrific graphics, though.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29am

I win! The hardest part was getting into combat with enough of the shoji visible to poke out all the panels. Nice scene though, and certainly an unusual concept. Good job!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

The assets look awesome, you even modeled everything outside. It looks like an ambitious project, I would like to try the post compo version :).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44am

Wow, those trees are GREAT for 48 hours, and a good start on some interesting experimental gameplay.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00am

neat environment. couldn't figure out what was going on with the game

Codexus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40am

It took me a good 5 minutes to figure out how to play even after reading the description but I managed to beat the game. I liked the Japanese atmosphere.

*** SPOILERS *** The blue cubes correspond to a specific shoji (door), so make sure you view all the squares from that one, then touch the blue cube, press shift immediately and in "combat mode" just click all the squares as fast as possible. Only the 4 panels leading to the garden are part of the gameplay. *** SPOILERS ***

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14pm

The models you made were wonderful.

junt74 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:23am

Great graphics!

stromchin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:17pm

The graphics are nice

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:49am

I had a bit of a spoiler from the first post. It's interesting and nice attention to detail that you put some outdoor decoration just to be seen from the crack between the ken house walls.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:51am

Beautiful and totally devoid of game-type constraints. Minimalism achieved. Congratulations!

moomoo112 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:36am

rather confusing game, but definitely pretty

ecool377 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:07am

Cool concept would love to see more!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:13am

interesting but not really fun -- great artwork -- nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]