April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal ComplexiMolTato

by Infernal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use Numberpad to smack the items!


First completed compo.
used vs.net 2008, bfxr, gimp, paint.net,C++,SDL,SDL_Mixer,OpenGL

First time using SDL.. making my own font for the numbers was messy.
edit - added source link.. DOH 3am

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#519Humor2.26
#898Fun2.61
#899Audio2.10
#1080Innovation2.31
#1131Mood2.19
#1214Overall2.42
#1228Theme2.66
#1266Graphics1.97

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Got to Level 4 before I lost. It's hard to play with a laptop numpad. The red-white gradient in the graphics really put me off. I don't think this quite fit the theme, I imagined a minimalistic aesthetic, not minimal gameplay.

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

You have no idea how much I love using my numpad

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

Good work with the theme in terms of gameplay, graphics are a bit hard on the eyes, but a decent game overall. Nice work!

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Interesting use of the numpad! It would be cool if you had a version for people without numpads on their laptop, like maybe using:
QWE
ASD
ZXC

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

Scored 165, made level 4. Liked the simple gameplay - cool take on whack-a-mole. Very responsive. Wasn't sure what french fries or colors signified. Good first entry!

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

I had thought about doubling the difficulty by having two screens up, one for left hand and one for right hand. but the nature of the qwe,asd,zxc being offset kinda put me off so I didn't considering making that an option.
I will try to consider more input schemes for the next time!

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

That's tough =D Animations were really smooth, enjoyed it

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

no numpad :(

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57am

I made it respond to all numbers on a keyboard. Holding fn should enable the numberpad layout on a laptop although it is not the optimal layout as the rows are staggered.

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

^^^the above comment refers to original content. there have been no updates! (worried after what I read in IRC)

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06am

graphics and sound are quite bad, but the core mechanic is very well implemented. i could see it more polished as a casual web game.
The way it uses the keyboard reminds me of the old arcades, that's something we have lost in this smartphone times. Well done!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

Hey, so as we discussed...people with stupid keyboards that don't have numberpads can't play your game.

Which is a shame, because this is a totally valid concept. There is not guaranteed whackamole-ready platform out there. Consider porting it to the PS2 so that you can use a DDR mat?

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:12am

Very cool control scheme. Made it very fun to play.

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57pm

I only managed to get to level 4 on there.
It would be nice to add an item that you should not hit, to break the games flow here and there. Otherwise it is just a matter of hitting the right button every time.

Nonetheless this is a cool entry.
Really liked the control scheme. Would be good if you managed to mirror the controls to the left side of the keyboard as well for left-handed people and laptop users.

Gustera says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:02pm

ia have no numpad :!

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:10pm

nice work :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:08am

Awesome Idea, I just wish you put the numbers on there since you are using the number key pad. Unique from the rest which is great.

UntitledQ says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:13am

The most fun I've had with my numpad! :D

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:21pm

like people said above: nice simple gameplay. keeps you entertained.
You made you own Font? Looks good.
This might also be nice on mobile?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]