April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Random Objects Smash

by Moist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A very early prototype of a minimalistic shoot'em up game. It is playable, but hardly finished.

Features:
- TWO types of enemies
- lots of bullets flying around
- tons of upgrades (one, to be specific)
- totally generic SFXR sounds
- fancy camera shakes
- approximately 13 seconds of fun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#140Fun3.55
#200Graphics3.67
#375Overall3.35
#611Mood2.81
#627Humor2.13
#730Audio2.41
#737Theme3.35
#1051Innovation2.38

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

Very smooth and addicting. And I love the particle effects, I'll keep playing for sure.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Very fun and love the design! Sad that it isn't finished as it felt like it has a high potential!

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Great graphics!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Solid entry, controls feel great, clean visuals with some nice effects. I like how there is no shoot button. In practice I'm not sure having the player's aim turn slightly when you strafe is helping gameplay, but that's a minor point.

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I loved how the aim turned slightly to the side when moving. The weapon upgrade made you feel much more powerful, which I also liked. The graphics is great. I think this has a lot of potential. A shame you didn't put in a highscore or a timer stating how long you lasted without dying.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Really fun and challenging. Also really polished. 5/5

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Fun to play, enjoyed the graphics, and the novel aiming. Nice one!

vidarn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

This was a very fun game. The controls were intuitive and smooth and the game mechanics were simple in a good way, I guess minimalistic is the best word to describe it.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Feels great and the artwork sets an amazing atmosphere

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Slick or juicy or however you want to call it. Nice idea to shoot diagonal while moving. Even with the limited amount of weapons it was a fun experience! I'm still not sure what the player character shoots...

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Pretty cool base for a great shooter game.

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Ha! I had FOURTEEN seconds of fun! I sure showed you! I really love the art style, the single tone with black border really makes things pretty. I also love the exe's icon :)

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Very awesome game. True to the theme, and it does it well.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Game has a very nice feel to it. Very minimalist and quite well done. I do with there was another level of upgrades, the blue crystal things are just begging to be picked up!

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Nice little game. Could have done with a few more types of upgrades. Great job.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Very smooth and fluid gameplay and animation, with some nice touches. I like the art style, and coupling the aiming mechanism with moving is neat and works well. Very fun; I wish it were more complex/finished, but I really like what's here.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Smooth and fun. :) After a while it gets a bit repetitive, though... also you don't get any reward for collecting powerups once you've already gotten your ship upgraded.
This game has a nice start, it just needs more work.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Love the art, nice game well done! :)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33pm

The first LD26 shmup I've played so far and It fits the theme, but it really needs more work to be worth over 13 seconds.

If you want to keep it minimalistic, come up with a fancy core game mechanic rather than increasing weapon & enemy variety.
Here are a few ideas:
-Shooting enemies makes them move around.
-Enemy bullets are slightly attracted to the player's position
-Bullets ricochet from walls, other bullets or certain obstacles/enemies
-Gravity effects that bend bullet paths
-The player can die from her own bullets
-A repulsion mechanic of some sort
-Slowdown mechanics
-Consuming enemies to get their powers
-The classic ikarugan polarity mechanic (there could be more than 2 colors used)
-Enemies that transform over time/when colliding with each other.
-The player mutates over time/when hit by bullets (% chance to die)
-Randomized bullet patterns for enemies and powerups.
-Shields

Also:
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Draw Event
for object obj_Flame:

Fatel Error: Can not create vertex buffer
at gml_Object_obj_Flame_Draw_0 (line -1) - <unknown source line>
############################################################################################

Moist says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Thank you all for taking the time to play my game!

I'm terribly sorry for the "FATAL ERROR" message. Sadly, it appears to be an issue of the software I've used (GameMaker: Studio).
Also, I'm grateful for all the suggestions. Now I feel motivated to expand this into an actual game.

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:39pm

This has lots of potential. Please polish it. It's gonna rock! [I love shooting games. So maybe I am excited.]

Proch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

i absolutely love the graphic style. great work

Yoni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Great looking game, and lots of fun! I wish it had some music though.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Great graphic style! I like the black border around objects. :) Game lacks high-score system or a timer.

michail says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:36pm

I am positively surprised with this game. Maybe it is not innovative at all, but very playable. Enemies and levels are REALLY WELL BALANCED, it's just nice to play it. Graphics also fits very well. I played it at least 6 times, so it deserves 5/5 for fun :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I liked it instantly, stays true to the theme, addicting as well

Rafael Sales says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Cool game!

May 2, 2013 @ 1:55pm

so addictive! good job! :D

Diamonde says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I would say at least two and a half minute of joy! ;)
The gameplay was truly solid and quite exciting. I found it very hard to stay alive when there were three large blobs shooting at me.
Very nice overall!

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:03pm

the cell shading is really awesome - you also got the screen shakes and controls perfectly right, resulting in a really smooth and cool game

well done :D

EggDestroyer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Not bad. Have indeed an "unfinished" feeling and kinda awkward controls, but the graphics are very satisfying (grow bubbles, evil cubes ! And BAM ! Blow up !), as are the sfx. Well done :)

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I liked the effects you chose. The graphics look great. I could really have used some music though. Fun gameplay; I really liked the aiming mechanic. Nice work

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:57am

I like it
And it's more than 13 seconds :)

Zccc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:52pm

I really liked the particle effects! Smooth controls make it fun to play.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:47am

Loved the aesthetic and the controls just felt right. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]