April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

stairs

by cardboard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

GET TO THE TOP! (yes, there is an end)

help/hint:
to get over a step, both feet cannot be on the ground
at the moment a block leaves the screen. you can only
lift one foot at a time.
WALKthrough: http://youtu.be/gVnc9yIaT54

OSX USERS:
"Here's *one* recipe (probably not the simplest):
- brew install sdl sdl_mixer sdl_ttf sdl_image
- hg clone https://bitbucket.org/pygame/pygame
- cd pygame
- sudo python setup.py install
- cd../stairs
- # comment lines 19 and 20 of main.py (music doesn't load)
- python main.py \o/"

===========================================
python version requires python 2.7 and pygame
run "python main.py" to play
run "python main.py -serious" if you hate potatoes

for windows version, run "main.exe -serious" if you hate potatoes
===========================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#77Theme4.14
#292Innovation3.46
#303Humor2.65
#374Audio3.00
#595Fun2.94
#690Overall3.05
#775Graphics2.74
#898Mood2.54

Comments

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

I didn't find the proper file to launch your game !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Could you please add a compiled version?

cardboard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I'm adding an executable version when I get home today! (if all goes well)

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38am

Ahah, this game is funny, very original!
It was a bit annoying not being able to lift one foot as long as the other was in the air, even if it makes sense. Maybe an audible signal (footstep) when it's ok to do so would help.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:06am

Running it in source has extra entertainment value if you watch the IDLE window.

GAME!
INTRO!

However... I couldn't figure out how to tell when to step and when not to, so I am going to refrain from rating.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Dropbox link for the compiled version doesn't work.

drkrunk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

404 Can't play =[

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Indeed, a dropbox 404 error.

Hamumu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

404 on Windows for me too. I guess that's because 404s aren't a personal event. It's a bit like saying "Yes, the sun came up for me this morning too!" But unlike the sun, you can fix this for us, cardboard! LET US CLIMB THE STAIRS

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Original idea, minimalism !! Controls are pretty hard though. I liked it. and also I liked the music.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

+1 on the 404.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

404 error on your download page. :(

cardboard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59pm

@404: Ah crap. Dropbox hadn't finished syncing the windows version when I shut off my computer I think. :/

@Crowbeak: I'll make a gameplay video! I'll also try to explain it better in the description.

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Notes:

- Music is good. Reminds me of the music for The Fair King somehow (#7847).
- Aaaaaahh. This is hard!
- Waiting for stairs. "Stairs on line 1. Stairs on line 1. Report to the main desk."

Things I would change:

- Hm. Nothing? This is about as minimalistic as it gets.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Took me a solid 3 minutes to figure out what to do (admittedly I didn't read any instructions haha) and even after I understood what to do, I kind of failed at doing it. Not sure if it was just my own failing, or what. Interesting game, though!

Scott McBee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44am

Better instructions would go a long way. When I finally got the hang of it I enjoyed it, but some kind of "you climbed X stairs" would be nice so I could get a handle on how I was performing. Also, the start to first step time seemed too long. I enjoyed the music.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

I couldn't play... I couldn't even understand how to play. I see what I am supposed to do but it's to hard! Even If I could jump with both squares at the same time it would be difficult, and the first 3 seconds every restart feel like a waste of time. But the idea looks so good, you should try and fix this, you have to try and see if it's fun after you tune it a little more.

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24am

nice music BTW! ^^
... wow! i just had an insight!
Nice! now I'm enjoin it :3
Is still hard... and it doesn't have score implemented?
Please keep working on this, now I know is worth it :)

May 1, 2013 @ 5:48am

Took a few goes to understand what to do. QWOP-esque. I managed to get up to 5 steps one time! The movement speed of the feet seemed a bit sluggish, perhaps, as I tried to step before my feet were grounded again.

AstroEngiSci says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:23am

This game was really great. As infurating and addictive as Super Hexagon, if not more. I have yet to get to the end. I will finish it. I MUST. You have done well, cardboard.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:25am

An addicting game for its level of complexity, with excellent music. Did serious damage to my wrist. Looks like Night Driver!

oldtopman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:33am

The game is difficult. I had a hard time "marching" up the stairs, and it seemed to go on forever, with no incentive.

...then I opened the sauce, changed a few Trues to Falses and vice versa. Cool game, I loved the ending animation. Only real complaint is that the difficulty is a bit much.

Also, if you're going to use autotracker, at least try a few and use the least obnoxious one :P

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I am having trouble walking up the stairs :(

Cryovat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:12pm

The idea is very original and I enjoyed the music. Hard though! D:

khahem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:14am

Had to work a bit to make it work on OSX but liked it :)

Here's *one* recipe (probably not the simplest):
- brew install sdl sdl_mixer sdl_ttf sdl_image
- hg clone https://bitbucket.org/pygame/pygame
- cd pygame
- sudo python setup.py install
- cd../stairs
- # comment lines 19 and 20 of main.py (music doesn't load)
- python main.py \o/

cardboard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:42pm

@khahem: Thanks for playing! And thanks for posting instructions on getting it to work on OSX. I'll add it to the description so others can see it :)

Norgg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Fun and surprisingly challenging for such a simple mechanic until you've had time for the muscle memory to sink in.

Some kind of hint at there being an ending would be good, having got to the end I think a totally explicit progress percentage would defeat the point of it though.

The music was okay, though I think some kind of sound effect of footsteps echoing in the void would have given it a better atmosphere and I was kind of put off by wanting to step in time to the rhythm.

Overall: cool!

Felix20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:22am

I now understand... why they warned me about stairs... it keeps happening.

On a more serious note, I loved this game so far this is probably the most addictive game I've played this time. As far as the theme, the shear amount of minimalism you achieved is staggering (which is what I felt like I was doing the whole time I played). The moving side to side mechanic made it non repetitive enough to be quite fun.

The only thing I have a serious complaint about is the long wait time in between games. It's torture, torture I tell you.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Really creative idea, I just echo the complaint about how hard it is. I've been trying for 10 minutes and I never get more than about 20 steps up.

GingerMess says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:16am

This game is really difficult, which is fine, as it's very much based on your timing. I managed to get quite far up but then the feet narrowed and I eventually fell off.
The only thing I'd recommend is some sort of stronger clue as to when a step falls of the screen, as it takes a while to get used to judging when you need a foot to land to prepare for the next step.

Quite fun, if a little frustrating!

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Fun little mechanic - it's like jump rope, but with stairs! xD

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:00am

I'm not really sure what was going on. Were the white things stairs, or holes?

shawn42 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:00am

I like the idea here, I just really suck at your game. :/

I definitely had the QWOP _OMG HOW DO I PLAY THIS_ feeling. Hard, but fun. Nice work.

r3d5 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:51am

Nice and simple! Does the frequency of stairs every change for anyone?

cardboard says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:20am

@r3d5: No, the only thing that changes is the steps become thinner (and the feet become closer together) as the game reaches its end.

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Very tricky! Becomes a lot easier with practice.
One big challenge to it is that it's a bit "laggy" feeling waiting for your other foot to land before you can raise your other food - Maybe in a future version you might want to consider making the raised foot lower faster if you hit the opposite foot?
5/5 for innovation, this is a very unusual game!
Great work!

gizmo says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:59pm

i really like it! it reminds me of master of the lamps \o/

Haette says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:48am

I... i've never been so proud of managing to stagger up the stairs before ;_;

Whoever said QWOP was right, this manages to give the same kind of "oh god how did I get here I am not good with feet" feeling.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:43am

Amazing! I loved the potato's advice, haha. Took me a LONG time to figure out what I was doing, but eventually I got it all in one go.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]