April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Untitled Part IIIa

by hnjslater - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Written in pygame with music made in http://rebeccanesson.heroku.com/sequencer.html, I present an attempt as a Tower Defence game.

It's written in pygame so until I package it up, you best bet is to install pygame and then clone the repo directly. On a Debian based Linux (Ubuntu) this would be:

sudo apt-get install git pygame
git clone git://github.com/hnjslater/Untitled-Part-IIIa.git
cd Untitled-Part-IIIa
python main.py

On MacOS, the process is similar but to install pygame you should go to http://www.pygame.org/download.shtml and install the appropriate version of pygame before doing the last three steps of the above script

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#386Theme3.71
#630Audio2.58
#688Fun2.83
#766Innovation2.86
#778Humor1.94
#913Mood2.52
#996Overall2.74
#1040Graphics2.38

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

This game also works in windows if you have python 2.7 and pygame installed. The game is really difficult, I couldn't get past the bit where your core shifts into four places. I'm glad you have in there all the basics for a game. Amazing you completed a tower defense in 48 hours, well done.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26am

Thanks Perry particularly for giving it a go even though it's not packaged up for window yet. My last couple of games were a bit easy so I thought I'd make it a bit trickier! (It is worth completing though)

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Really nice design, and fits the theme well. Very hard though!

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Looks interesting, too bad I'm on Windows... I may try it with Perry solution if I take the time

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great job! Simple, but fun and hard!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice game! :)

CAukamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Minimalistic and hard. I alwys died shotly after the position shift.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Nice idea, the music is a bit repetitive and the game crashed rather quickly:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 382, in <module>
main()
File "main.py", line 335, in main
baddie.tick(paths,grid)
File "main.py", line 165, in tick
self.choose_next_grid(paths, grid)
File "main.py", line 148, in choose_next_grid
options = [ option for option in options if option in paths ]
TypeError: argument of type 'bool' is not iterable

Under Arch Linux you have to use python2.

hnjslater says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:11am

Hmm, I understand the issue, somehow an unreachable square has been created, I can't work out how :-( hmmmm

Jim Haslett says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:16am

No windows/web port :(

kurrik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:49am

Pretty tough! I think some indication of how many towers were left would be helpful. It looks like you prevent completely enclosing a tower - seems like it would've been tricky to implement, nice.

mildmojo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:00pm

In Mint, the pygame package was called "python-pygame".

It plays pretty well, but it's really hard. Tower defense usually gives you a little breathing room to build your defenses between rounds. Now I know why. =) Moving and replicating the base feels a little unfair, especially when it goes to all 4 sides of the screen and the enemies completely neglect your previously-fortified bases in favor of the new positions.

Have you looked at PyInstaller (http://www.pyinstaller.org/) or cx_Freeze (http://cx-freeze.sourceforge.net/) for packaging the game cross-platform? I haven't used either, but I know I've played packaged pygame games before.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:45am

Great concept! Very hard but the extra difficulty forced me to experiment and create new strategies, revealing the depth of the game. Works great with the theme as a minimization of RTS/tower defense.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Fun figuring out the mechanics but pretty easy once I got the hang of it. Just build a spiral around the center, then a snaking hallway leading to the left base, then 3 blocks around each of the other 3 bases. You have to know when the bases are coming and start building before they show up, though.

May 11, 2013 @ 5:25am

This game was great! It made me laugh out loud quite literally. First, I didn't know how to play. Then I realized it was a tower defence game. Then you moved my damn base! Then just when I thought I had you, suddenly I had two bases? And then four!!!

┻━┻ ︵ヽ(`Д´)ノ︵ ┻━┻

Honestly though, really great game. Hidden genre, hidden controls, minimal visuals, brutally difficult.

iFred_QC says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Mind a port for windows? I don't use Python/Pygame at all and I really don't feel like installing them.

dick_claus says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:46am

Finally I managed to run right version of pygame.
Nice tower defense by the way.

hnjslater says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:31am

Cheers for all the comments, I will learn how to do windows packaging in time for the next LD, I promise!

May 20, 2013 @ 7:12am

Linux and Mac Only? Ballsy Choice :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]