April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pyramid

by PaulSB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pyramid is an abstract, minimalist roguelike(-like).

Features include!
-An endless pyramid to descend through, full of spirit horrors!
-16 unique weapons called different things!
-Streamlined, minimalist gameplay - even a decent run will take no time at all!
-Unsettling atmosphere pulling you ever deeper into the tomb of malevolent spirits!

How many levels can you survive in... the Pyramid?

Controls:
-Arrow keys/WASD/ZQSD to move (move into spirits to attack)
-Click on objects and creatures to identify them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Audio3.31
#230Mood3.32
#310Fun3.26
#323Overall3.41
#358Theme3.74
#595Innovation3.08
#669Graphics2.89
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

Lovely idea! It's great how you immediately go "Oh, Pyramid. I get it"

Minimalist artstyle works surprisngly well. I like the brighter upper right "border" on the squares, gives the world not to be underestimated amount of depth.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

Got to level 18 or so, really enjoyed the opening out level mechanic. Found it a little hard to figure out tactics (beyond dodging is good + the blue things can heal you when you kill them).

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Really good execution on the theme department. I always enjoy a sweet roguelike. Escalated nicely. :) And also enjoyed the audio.

Test User says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

Fun puzzles, it looks procedurally generated which == replayability! One qualm was the impossible situations, where you spawn next to an enemy and get hurt right away without even doing anything, or when that one purple guy chases you so there's no right move. Overall, fun game though.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Great concept and neat gameplay!! I really enjoyed playing it though I could only get to level 27. I see what you did there with procedurally generated levels, though as it happened to me once it is not easy to generate true randomness without side effects (like enemies trapped in inaccessible places). Very good work!!

PaulSB says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56am

Level 27 is a great effort! It gets incredibly treacherous into the 20s. Orange squares will ruin your day.

To clarify on item drops: a weapon is generated and auto-equipped IF it is superior to your current one, otherwise you get the equivalent attack power as health. So they're always good to get.

Thanks for playing!

CaseyHardman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I'm going to be a critic here, hopefully it doesn't sound like I'm being rude (I rather enjoyed the game):

I don't understand the point of 'identifying' a spirit if all it gives you is the name, and you can't really judge whether or not you'll be able to kill it from that.

The weapons also seemed a bit confusing: could I get a weapon that's worse than the weapon I have on already? Should I be cautious which one I pick up because of this?

I couldn't move diagonally, but the generated levels seemed to think I could. I'm not sure if this is some kind of glitch, or if I'm just not good enough at hitting the keys at once.

PaulSB says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:07am

1 - True, it just gives a bit of flavour; perhaps someone might remember the strength of a given named enemy.
2 - Weapons only equip if they're superior. I know this is unclear, I didn't get to messaging that to the player really. Items are always beneficial.
3 - Yeah that's a bug I never killed, and why the reset function was added.

Cheers!

Mekuri says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Very good game, and true to the theme. I enjoyed it, though I must admit, I didn't realize you could kill the other squares until I read it in the comments.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:19pm

good little game. The sound give a perfect atmosphere.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Wicked game, love the shrinking/upres!

Ryusui says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:04pm

That was amazing. I got to level 26 or so before dying.

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:47am

I wanted to play a minimalist roguelike first, and this one was very satisfying. Strong use of the theme, entertaining flavor text, fun to play. One frustrating thing: when you die, the screen fades out too fast to read how far you got.

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Oh, and "Serrated Chopsticks of Patience" is my new favorite named weapon anywhere.

donan says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Trully addictive game. Great work :D

GingerMess says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I love the atmosphere in this game, however...minimal it may be. A really good game.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Cool game, nice sound! Liked it... :)

May 11, 2013 @ 5:14pm

This was a spectacular game. Man, my Barbaric Axe of Horror slew so many foes. I'm not a person who tends to play rogue-likes, so I actually had a learning curve to get over. My first play I thought I just had to avoid enemies. I got to about level 13. Once I realized I could sometimes kill them, I got further. When finally I started to get weapon upgrades, then I took off. I think I got to like, level 40? I imagine there are 99 levels (or maybe some power of 2?).

Anyway: great mood, the little "plop" sound really made it for me. I played this again and again. I am curious about the AI, also. The orange guys seemed really shy, despite their power.

Finally I died in an ambush...

Sebastian says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Very compelling, I really like the light background music.
It would be nice if it would say how far you got when you die.

Sestren says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:05am

Reminds me of a minimal-ized version of an old favorite of mine, Scarab of Ra. The vision fog was a nice touch, and the ambient music was cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]