April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini danmaku

by CogComp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here's my contribution to LD26...

When the theme was announced I decided I really wanted to make a danmaku style game since they tend to be the exact opposite of minimalism :-)

So I've kept the essence of the game genre( the bullet-hell patterns ) and toned down the graphics style to its bare minimum.

There's 15 levels to play and it only takes a couple of minutes to complete the game once you've figured out how to dodge all the patterns.

Instructions:
Shoot the spinning star with your tiny triangle ship, while avoiding all the square shots being shot at you.

Controls:
Either use the arrow keys to move around, and space-bar to start

Or (recommended) drag the ship around with you mouse by holding to the mouse button and moving your mouse pointer on the screen.

(You do not have to place the cursor on the ship, as long as you're inside the game boundaries it will work)

Use 'M' to toggle music on/off
Use 'S' to toggle sound effects on/off

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#443Audio2.88
#807Fun2.71
#830Graphics2.68
#873Overall2.88
#901Theme3.17
#945Mood2.48
#1001Humor1.59
#1029Innovation2.42

Comments

CogComp says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Uploaded a walkthrough video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEuo6il1Xi0&feature=youtu.be

Zed says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15am

This is fantastic. It feels like an entire genre distilled into its basic form. Very, very clever. My only criticism is that it feels like a couple of the enemies' patterns are literally unavoidable.

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Great game! It is a blast to play. I thought that it was a little hard, and found that I had to take damage in order to deal damage (although maybe that's the point!). I found that almost every enemy I could kill by just sitting at the bottom of the screen without moving. And the last guy seems incredibly tough. I couldn't kill it. Great game though, really really fun.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Bullethell!
Nice soundtrack. And only boss enemies. Great!

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

It's a little hard to play on a Mac laptop (probably because of how the clicking works), but it was still pretty fun. I only got to level 5 or 6 though.

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Always loved shmups but hate bullet hells. Great sound though.

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

The hitbox seems as big as the entire ship, which is itself larger than the space between the bullets. I think I'm missing something vital.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Hard game which fits the theme nicely

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Good fun! My only complaint is that the gaps between bullets is often too small for you to fit through.

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

This game is pretty sweet! Although, after watching the walkthrough, I can see that my attempts to win with the keyboard were futile.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

For when the unharm walkthrough? :P

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice, though not really my type of game. Based on the video it seems to me that the collision shape is not centered exactly on the ship.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:02pm

You really got the patterns right. Good job!

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Nice but I had a lot of trouble on what I was supposed to do! :(

daniel2357 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

The barrage makes very nice shapes. The game is pretty hard .
In overall a very nice game.

erdos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57pm

The enemy patterns are really cool!

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:43pm

AAAAAH THERE ARE SO MANY

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:50am

Nice bullet hell here. Liked it, nice job.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Loved the music and the bullet patterns!!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Too hard for me man, but AWESOME game nonetheless.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:20am

Enemy 1 is a great way to initialize the game. Visually interesting bullet patterns!

lotusgame says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Nice game. Patterns are too repetitive, and some patterns are impossible to avoid.. so i did not have too much fun. Good job anyway ;)

May 12, 2013 @ 12:21pm

As somebody already said, some patterns are impossible to avoid, which makes the game a bit unfair. Having a 1 pixel hitbox for the ship would have improved the experience a lot i think

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice minimalistic take on the bullet hell genre. The bullet patterns are actually quite pretty to look at.

dalbinblue says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Quite challenging as it should be for a bullet hell; got about two-thirds through the enemies. There was at least one pattern that was impossible to dodge, which is not good for a bullet hell game, and the collision box felt very large (most bullet-hells I've seen usually have a tiny hit box). Despite the music being very basic I did get into it.

May 12, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Exactly what it is marketed as. I would change the ship to lock to the mouses position, or hide the mouse (if possible). I found myself looking at the mouse sometimes instead of the ship.

May 12, 2013 @ 11:33pm

I feel like it's a little too easy to cheat since you can just hide offscreen, but it's still a neat game. I like it! You definitely found the essence of a genre and did it well.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:32am

i wish i could shoot the square -- some are unavaoidable -- great job

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Tough but once I figured out I could escape the hell by going out of the room, it was cake. Made it as far as the 11th star.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]