April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The truth of the Minimalist

by Marnix Suilen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Both game (.exe) and source are packed in a zip file.
Made with game maker studio, professional version, so some functions may not work with the free or standard edition.
Hope you like it, I may be porting it to HTML5 soon.

For now: NEED SLEEP!

EDIT:
------------------------------------------------------------
Now that I've slept I think it's time to explain some about the game. Each level is build out of these primary coloured blocks that are outlined with darker versions of that colour. Each level also starts with a tip, use it! You are supposed to find pieces which get harder to find during the game. At the end, each piece stands for a larger piece and a sentence which explains the overall ending. Even with collecting 0 pieces you will still get to see the ending, it might just seem strange. Don't forget to unzip all files!

[HTML5 version coming later, forgot that webservers and read/write ini files don't work quite well together.]

EDIT: Html5 version done. Including a special bug that makes the game not show the hint at the start of each level!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#663Graphics2.90
#713Mood2.73
#971Innovation2.53
#1014Audio1.69
#1056Overall2.67
#1097Fun2.33
#1123Theme2.85
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

How cool!

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Really weird but minimalistic art style. Controls are bit restrictive, would be nice to move diagonally. :) Maybe start off with a quest/story to keep give people more of a purpose.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:46am

It's very hard to understand, i find 2 "purple switchs" then...i don't know what to do !

Leginar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Pretty decent. I like the block style of graphics, but I wish your character was also in a sprite. As someone else said diagonal movement would be nice. Also, in the 2nd screen I got stuck above the tracks. Is that supposed to happen?

Marnix Suilen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:49am

Thanks for your comments guys!

@EdoMiyamoto the purple blocks are pieces, not the switch, there's only one switch in that level (also has a different sound) To make progress, follow the pavement (brow blocks) end of any level is always on the right side.

@Leginar Player wasn't made out of blocks because I was afraid it might get invisible because it looked to much like the background. You are not supposed to get stuck(although I know there are some issues with collision).

HTML5 versions is coming later today!

Zed says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:21pm

I started off confused, and never got any less confused, but I think I enjoyed being confused. Also your playable character was very cute.

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Interesting game. I appreciated that, with the exception of the first switch, the player's progress is never impeded. I was very confused for some time, and even now after having completed it, I think I'm still confused.

There are two classes of findable objects in the game. Invisible ones and purple ones. I don't know what unique properties belong to each, nor what the consequences of finding them are. I had four visible pieces at the end of the game, so I guess all of them were pieces? If so, I don't know how I feel about searching the world for invisible blocks. Strikes me as a bit unfair to ask that of the player.

davidwparker says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I agree, it would be nice to move diagonally. It was pretty hard to understand what to do...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]