April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Red Swarm

by Cirrial - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The controls for the game are included in the link, both on the page and in the game itself.

You are an unnamed bug alien capable of producing more bug aliens on a whim. Your metabolism is fuelled by a strange substance colloquially referred to as "nectar", which seeps from the vents in the floor of this facility you find yourself in at random intervals.

Given the suitability of this place to survive in, your only goal is to drive out the current occupants with force and ensure they don't return by destroying their teleporters.

They have theoretically infinite numbers, but so do you, and you can reinforce faster than they can. Good luck!

(a note on the being at all related to the theme: yes, my bad)

(a note on potatoes: yes, also, my bad)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#257Fun3.34
#361Overall3.37
#464Graphics3.16
#543Innovation3.13
#743Mood2.70
#769Audio2.34
#826Humor1.87
#1326Theme2.24

Comments

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

The biggest problem I can see in this game is that there's a single dominating strategy that pretty much guarantees you to win. By spamming workers in the little safe area you start off in, you can just sit there while they get thousands of units of nectar. Then you can just ignore workers for the rest of the game and just run into the middle of enemy territory dropping soldier eggs. The units don't seem to play nice with corners, and the workers kind of frustratingly run into swarms of snake things when they smell nectar. And then your queen can just hide around corners and never get hit and keep spawning things. Overall the gameplay kind of suffers from the lack of polish due to the time constraints. More time for playtesting and fixing gameplay flaws, along with perhaps a bit more depth and reason to control territory and not just hide your workers in one spot would greatly improve this.

Still, it's nice to see that you pulled through and finished your game.

ericlass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Cool game but not much of a challenge.

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

It is very exciting to see a sort of RTS styled game in this competition. It plays very well, however it would have been nice to get more feedback on what is happening. How much nectar your workers are collecting, how many soldiers / workers you have, their health, etc. Still, it's pretty fun

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

VDOgamez is correct. Maybe a efficiency limit on nectar workers per nectar "soup" would combat it? On the other hand, I don't know if there would be another strategy to beat this game.

netmute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

At first, I had no idea what I was doing, but then... my god that was fun. Die! Filthy green snake scum!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

VDOgamez sums it up the best, perhaps there could have been more units, queen could attack too, etc. But otherwise it was pretty good. The sound effects were bit of ear wrecking, especially the one that plays when teleporter is destroyed.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I think it's a good strategy game in overall. I liked the way the queen has to protect the fighting soldiers. Most of the concerns are in the previous comment already :P

Really nice and addicting game though.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Really fun, but needs a bit more balance and strategy.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Really cool concept

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Good job! With some tuning it could be a nice game!

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Nice polished feel to it.

yellowlemming says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

looks and plays very well

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I enjoyed walking around in the atmosphere of the facility!

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I like the mechanic, a sort of action RTS. I mostly agree it's a bit unbalanced, but it was pretty well implemented.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I found the game impossible until I read some of the comments (I never completed it). A soundtrack would have been nice, but the mechanics and graphics were nicely implemented.

shotiris says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:42am

Am I pooping eggs? Fantastic ...

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I like the idea, there a re a lot of great options!

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:15am

Nice game, a little too difficult at the begining. But a RTS in 48h is impressive. Well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]