April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist TD

by Gama11 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalist TD is a Tower Defense game that consists of one endless level with one tower and one enemy type. There are 3 upgrades for towers (Range, Damage and Firerate) and only two colors (Black and White) have been used.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#171Overall3.63
#173Fun3.48
#224Theme3.90
#370Graphics3.31
#374Audio3.00
#443Mood3.03
#648Humor2.10
#1233Innovation2.05
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Frigolit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

Simple and cute little TD. Seemed quite balanced as well during the time I played it. Thumbs up!

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

got to lvl 20 it's fun

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Glad you're enjoying it. I appreciate the comment about the balance, I worked quite a bit on that.

Wave 20 is pretty solid - that's where it gets pretty tough. I don't think it's possible to get much farther. My current highscore is wave 23.

Leebo86 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

TD games aren't really my thing, but it's definitely one of the more "complete" games you'll see in this kind of game jam, so that's worthy of respect.

AyCe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I quit at level 50 because there is still so much more to try out^^
Good choice with the upgrade system. I noticed how range is actually bad, because it makes towers target enemies which are already targeted by towers farther to the right thus wasting shots.

It's actually also grey ^^

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

@AyCe Wow, level 50 is impressive. I guess I'll have to try again using another strategy. The range thing is really interesting... I guess the tower AI isn't perfect, and if two towers happen to be charged and target the same enemy in a single frame, one shot will be wasted (assuming only one shot is needed to kill him).
However, towers only charge when an enemy is in range.. So yeah.

rab236 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

A very nice, clean tower defense game

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Very nice, good job!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I like it.

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

It's a really cool minimalist tower defense. Like it ^^

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I'm not usually a big fan of tower defence, but I had fun with this. It works really well, and I especially like the music.

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Fun game, excellent work for 48 hours.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice job! Attractive, simple, easy to play. I liked it.

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Minimalist and well balanced. This was really fun to play.

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

@Ytsy: Wow, I didn't expect a compliment regarding the music. It's the first time I've ever created music myself, and I was wondering whether to include it at all, since I feared that it could actually make the game worse. Thanks! :)

pl0xz0rz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

A good TD. Simple, and yet addictive, at least for some minutes.

optimality says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Quite enjoyable. I especially like the graphics and the audio.

Seems a bit easy though; not really any interesting decisions.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I'm a sucker for TD games, this one is no exception ! Pretty well done except the balance seems off. I played until wave 52 and quit because I was crushing the enemy easily. I guess that's to be expected because there's only one tower and one enemy type.

JAH2488 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:30am

Awesome game. Lots of fun. Very solid in all aspects!

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:07pm

not innovative but well done and plays very well :)

grayhaze says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:05am

Well done. Crashed the browser for me at wave 69 though!

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:35pm

A decent little TD game. Good job!

Ditto says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Addictive. Awesome job man!

May 6, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice little TD, congratulations! Did you use HaxeFlixel?

michail says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:39am

Nice and polished entry. It seems there's nothing interesting to happen after some 30 waves, but I like it anyway.

Gama11 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:46pm

@Tiago Ling Alexandre: Yeah, exactly, that's what I used. :)

pirate-rob says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Power failure at wave 135 T.T Good game though!

Erunaamo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:20pm

As a TD novice, I found this satisfyingly tense for about 30 waves, then too easy...but still fun until about wave 80. I like the old-school graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]