April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Struggle

by Thijsku - Jam Entry

Dungeon Struggle is a very simple concept. The goal is to survive the endless wave of skeletons. I tried to implement the theme primarily with the simple controls (WASD + mouse button) and the simple graphics.

I hope you like it! Show those Skeletons what you've got!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#54Fun(Jam)3.60
#86Audio(Jam)3.57
#144Overall(Jam)3.47
#186Humor(Jam)2.50
#208Graphics(Jam)3.45
#222Mood(Jam)3.11
#289Theme(Jam)3.21
#387Innovation(Jam)2.59

Comments

TheSheep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

Haha, similar idea to our jam entry. Nice look and feel. And I like the music, nicely done!

Tyro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

Very fun little title! Is the gun not supposed to be able to destroy crates though? More enemy types/power ups would be nice as well, but you could easily add those in the future.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07am

Really nice game. Fast paced! Bit of a pain that I cant open chests with the gun but still fun. Nicely done!

Thijsku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

Thanks for the comments! Guns can break chests now. :) (Just in time!)

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

Nice graphics, the torch lighting looks great. One more enemy type would have improved the game a lot, but good job

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:46am

Very addictive! Really like it. And great music too :)

Almax27 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08pm

The RSI inducing gameplay was excellent, the music catchy and the particle effect fantastically over the top. Best game I've played so far!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I like this game! Pixel art is cool, and the music too. (But I don't think it fits very well in the genre of the game)
Good job :)

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Very minimalistic and fun! Well done!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Very nice job! The game is fast-paced and addicting :D It's satisfying to beat on skeletons and have their piles of bones scatter the floor!

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Love it, and the music is really nice. One new type of ennemy would be great.

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Simple but fun. The few mechanics were executed well, and I liked being able to dodge enemy attacks. With more powerups and enemies this would be a great game. Awesome music!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:05pm

You watched me play, Enjoyed playing it, I didnt know you can hold down the mouse for the gun. I think it would be awesome if you did that for the sword too. The enemies were also a little to predictable.

brookman32k says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:27am

Very funny to play and I also like the graphics, but here I think the music made the game... The sound has oldschool midi character, but is very beatuiful and well composed and gives a nice sense of adventure.

Robrock55 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:19pm

A very funny game, I love your concept !

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Fun game, I liked the music and retro art style. Not sure the gun as a power-up is very fitting with the fantasy game setting and also I had a couple of issues with collision detection though. The gameplay is good and with some additional enemies and weapons would be even better. Overall nice work!

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Thanks for streaming Prisma! Sorry it was so difficult.

Notes:

- Simple mechanic. Like it.
- Music is nice, but it doesn't fit the theme of the game very well.
- Some nice details: the shield tweaks slightly when you swing your sword.
- Wave 10! The dungeon floor is littered with skeletons.
- I got a gun. Doesn't work very well at close range.
- Got a blue sword, but then died at wave 12.

Things I would change:

- Randomly choose between the four corners of the map when spawning a wave.
- Vary the speed of baddie attack when in wave 10+.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I really like the way you implemented the spinning weapons. The fact that you don't take damage from simple collusion with enemies gives it a lot more depth.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Cool game. I missed the option to attack walking backwards. Congratz!

May 2, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Cool game, very enjoyable! Nice music, too. Not quite fitting in, but good... :) Would have been nice to attack up/down or to the back when running from monsters sideways. Otherwise, very good!

mipi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Loved the music and the enemy attack mechanic! This was great.

Thijsku says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Thanks for the comments so far! It's nice to read them. Will probably expand this game after the Ludum Dare. ^^

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:51am

that was pretty cool. I liked the part where your sword turns into a lazer gun :) What would be fun for further versions is to add some level design or stuff in the level that you can use to kill the enemies. Maybe even some goal like save the princess or get the gold :) Anyway great work!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:06pm

It was quite fun, although it got repetitive quite quickly. I was a bit disappointed you could only attack in two directions where the enemies could attack in a full range. Good work though!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Awesome... I got to the tenth wave. The poor character, though, is stuck in a dungeon that he cannot get out of, in a dress with mace - wielding pigtail killers after him for all eternity. LOL

lathomas64 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:47am

very nice, I thought things were getting a bit monotonous and then *bam* I had new weapon.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:38am

aaaaahhhhh -- not the spinning axes of doom! great job

juaxix says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:54pm

This game needs a soul,...like Gaunlet or dungeons and dragons, minimal interface, pretty fun, well done

May 17, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I liked the audio and graphics, it's a cool little game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]