April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Double Edged

by pereubu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a two player duelling game.
Hide yourself in the light or the shadows, and cut your opponent in half when the moment comes !

This game is mostly inspired by a scene from the Samurai Jack serie.

Created in about 40 hours using Game Maker, Illustrator and Fruity Loops.
All the content is made by myself

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#20Graphics4.29
#179Mood3.42
#187Fun3.46
#249Audio3.22
#283Overall3.45
#296Innovation3.45
#338Humor2.58
#428Theme3.66

Comments

KinokoFuhen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35am

Man, I love your game ! It's really fun to play. However, it's not well balanced. Black player has bigger area or at least, better paths. But still a great game !

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

tré bonne idée, et joli design, <3 great work !

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55am

Everything looks so wonderful! If you worked a bit more on your coding you'd have a fantastic game on your hands.

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Love the graphics, tho it was hard to know where you were alot of the times.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Whoa!!! Really well done.
Everything is really polished and the concept is really cool.

Pol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

luv tout pareil <3

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Very cool idea, however i think it needs more polishing. However a very cool game!

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very nice just as the samurai jack cartoon :) although it took a while to get used to playing with white samurai.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Needs some polishing but it's very fun as it is

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Cool game :D. Too bad couldnt play with a friend. Graphics and idea are really nice.

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

The characters are really well-done! And the music fits perfectly with the mood of this duelling game.
Too bad I don't have a 2nd player.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I thought the game was lagging when I heard the music for the first time. xD

Nice overall experience, had some issues here and there with players getting 'stuck' when jumping vertically up into walls, but that's about it.

Good job! ~

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46pm

First, thank you all.
I spent a lot of the last hours polishing the LD ( in fact, I was tweaking the shadow/light to make it unstable ) and
the other great amount of work was polishing the dashing wich i'm pretty proud of.
If by "Polyshing" you guys meant the stuck character when dashing, I tried my best to avoid it with no sucess, and it probably needs a way to parry or some other interaction.

I suppose I will restart this game from ashes ( maybe with a friend ) because I have a lot of ideas to make it even more fun to play :D

lekochen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

Very nice graphics and atmosphere, good job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26am

This is incredible! Amazing aesthetic, and overall brilliant feel.

invi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30am

This is very cool. I love the idea, the music, the graphics. Awesome stuff!

MemphisTen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

nice idea with the hiding in the shadows :)

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01am

Nice idea...

PiotGuy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11am

Spend 3 hours playing it with my roommate, a really good game

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

Cool design, neat idea. It works great.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03am

Loved this concept! It's like a true battle with both sides of the brain trying to coordinate it. Incredibly polished given the time frame. Good job!

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

We love this game! It needs more leves, though.

graytest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I could unfortunately not play this with anyone else, but I love the hiding and the flashes (only problem is that I don't know where my own guy is). Really cool! You should keep working on this!

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Well the flash is mainly used as an anti camp and a way to spot yourself.
The dash is in the inverted color for the same reason

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44pm

I really liked the art in your game. Unfortunately, I have no one to test this with ... so I can't really judge the pleasure of the game play. But good work for what I can see!

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I first thought the inverted areas where the player isn't visible would make it hard but I could move well. A variety of levels or maybe random platforms would have been nice.

biscuitdough says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:02am

the controls are a little stiff, but overall pretty good, great look

Chman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Just wow.

pereubu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:15pm

hahaha thanks a lot man :D

enzo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Super stylish, pumpin rhythm, A+

TurboDindon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Excellent soundtrack and graphic style! That game has a real personality. Great job!

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:08am

Love that graphic, contrasty style. And the robots with swords. ;)

rujo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:07am

the visuals are perfect, too bad i couldn't try it with another player.

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Whoa, yeah, instantly thought of the scene from Samurai Jack when I saw this :) Really excited to play this, will try it out with my brother later.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Interesting graphics.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Great and simple! Love the hide in shadows or light bit. FUN

Orni says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I loved your previous LD entries and love this one as well - well done :)

I've played this with my girlfriend and this might be the best fun we had playing on the same pc for a long time

very well done :)

May 5, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Could you rename the "Download" link to say "Windows" or similar? This would let people on other platforms (e.g. Linux, OS X) know that they don't need to bother downloading.

wilbefast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Damn it, *I* was going to make this game :P Ah well, I guess now I don't have to. Nice one: the sound and music are both great, as is the art-style, and stealth on a single screen was a very ambitious design challenge to take on.

There are a few readability issues, though this comes in part from the fact that showing information to one player hides it from another. I'd like more feedback on kills and deaths though: check out Samurai Gun to see what I mean. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IJZ3TSjuaE

pereubu says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Yeah, i was using samruai gunn a lot for inspiration, and i'm actually working on feedbacks for the post compo release.

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:37pm

I have nobody to play with but the game seems interesting. The slash attack couldown seems a bit fast maybe a slower cooldown + only one life would force the players to use the shadow mechanic more often instead of running and slashing in every directions.

pereubu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:03pm

The old version was 1 life only, but it breaked the rythm of the game too often, players usually wanna fight each other and hide only when necessary.
I'm actually trying to make the pacing slower to let the player think before attacking.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]