April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Dust (LD26)

by swizzcheez - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ok, I'm as done as I'm going to get (maybe some IE tweaking later).

Here it is:

http://pixel-dust.appspot.com

It's a cross between Nonograms and Mastermind. Not going to be my favorite game, but at least it's the first one I finished.

Source code on github: https://github.com/swizzcheez/pixel-dust

Screenshot:







PS: In case it isn't clear how this is "minimal" -- I don't know how much more minimal I can get than a game about putting color blocks on a canvas. ;)

Also, IE9 kind-of runs. Firefox, Chrome seem to fare well on Linux and Windows. I still can't tell if Macs will work (don't have one to test with).

PPS: Tools I ended up using:

Flask (Python)
Google App Engine
Bootstrap/jQuery w/Custom Theme
Color plugin to jQuery
I think that was it. The rest was hand-rolled.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#467Innovation3.23
#732Theme3.36
#822Audio2.24
#830Graphics2.68
#897Overall2.85
#961Humor1.67
#991Fun2.49
#1090Mood2.27

Comments

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16am

I love the discover image type puzzles. Great job. (I got the link to mine fixed if you want to check it out again.)

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

Wow, it's a 1A2B in 2D grid! Like this idea.

sparksgently says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

Slick interface. I didn't get the impression that I could logic out what color went where (a la Mastermind), and that meant that I was just clicking until I got a happy noise. That's just my personal preference, I guess, that I would rather be rewarded with a puzzle than a picture.
Nice work all around!

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Really hard to understand what the goal is.
Otherwise it was interesting and nice :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

I'm very bad at these type of games.. and got annoyed pretty quickly.. it's a good game tho, just not my kind :)

patrickward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

Nice job. It took me a couple of tries before I figured out what to do. It would be nice to have a small graphical hint, so you're not stabbing in the dark. Overall, a very playable game. Felt complete. Good work!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Nice mechanic. The time limit was perhaps a little strict, or maybe I'm a bit slow? :) Maybe an undo button would help

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

Another vote for the undo button! Other than that I found this to be quite a unique puzzle game.

berjah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

runs well and looks nice. a longer time limit for the first round would be good, or maybe I'm too slow ;-)

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

Is adding an undo button something I'm /allowed/ to do after launch? I'm willing to tweak some of these things in, but I don't know if it's allowed.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

Also, I wouldn't mind dialing in the right scoring settings, but I assumed that after the compo launch that wouldn't be allowed.

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

This was difficult for me, but i'm bad with puzzles :) I did enjoy the concept and challenge though, well presented.

Misael.K says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:52am

I'm not sure I dig (functionally) the interface. The "good piece" sound would sometimes be silent, and the little number above each grid block was a bit confusing (that is, I couldn't use it to assist me). I found the time given to be really short, I could only complete a two color puzzle even after several tries.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:05am

What, no Potato?? Also, looks like the scoring for the basic mode isn't working -- both score boards look like they just display the scores for the unlimited mode.

sboerwinkle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Neat idea. A little more score would be nice, but I'm sure I'll get better. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:56am

Pretty hard but it's a rather interesting puzzler.

Koltiman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:54am

Really neat little game, good work!

Mach60KAS says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Very interesting, maybe a little bit more time would be nice! :) The design of the page was well thought out and complimented the game, too. Well done!

Oye Beto says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:50am

I don't know if I'm playing it right, I'm doing it by trial and error and I can't win :P

I liked that you connected it with google accounts and the web design looks good.

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Very good! I always wanted to be an imageprocessing algorithm myself. :) Well, my degree is partly from it but I like them more now. :D

swizzcheez says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:19am

I have a scoring fix ready to roll out once the compo is complete. I thought about deploying under the "typo" rule, but wasn't quite sure so I'm leaving it until the compo ends.

Once that occurs, you will have a better scoring indicator and fixes to make the game beatable, perhaps too much so. We'll see. Anyone want to continue play-testing after?

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:39am

Ooh clever. Agree that it could do with better instructions for the drive-by ludumdare rater, but once you know what's going on it's a solid game and surprisingly fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]