April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minga-Me

by blay09 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hint: There are random fights in the sewers. You should at least go through two of them so you are trained well enough for the next level.

OS/X: As usual the game doesn't seem to run on OS/X. I can't test this myself as I have no Mac, but if you could try running it on the Terminal and post the error message you get, I'll look at how to fix it (because it should actually work).

In Minga-Me you're a new player of the popular MMORPG Minga-Me - at least it was popular until a new developer took over. He, who calls himself "The Gamemaster", has a weird view of Minimalism, which leads to him going ahead and nerfing and un-deving the once loved game.
Somehow Alex, that's who you are, gets dragged into all this,
and now you have to give your best to save the world.

I don't really know what else I should write here.
This time the game has rather simple controls (surprise!) and they're all explained ingame.
It's my first time deploying a libgdx game - but from what I see the single jar should work on all, Windows, Linux and OS/X without a problem. I tried deploying to HTML5, but I guess the game is too big for that - it lagged a lot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Humor3.64
#334Overall3.40
#353Mood3.15
#498Audio2.79
#538Fun3.00
#552Theme3.54
#560Innovation3.12
#717Graphics2.83

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

This is a very interesting take on the theme, I like it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

Looks really cool but I can't start it :/
I'm on mac.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

Cool spin on the theme, I liked it. Aside from the boss fight. Pretty awesome.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

I had fun! definitely the least minimal game about minimalism but certainly not in a bad way! Fighting the gamesmaster got me though, I need to play more rock band for practice I guess ^__^;

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

Go home, you're drunk!

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46am

Darn, doesn't work on a mac.

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49am

Runs perfectly on OSX10.8 is started with java -jar from the terminal

Nice game too

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55am

Very interesting idea.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

A bit too much text for my liking but managed to play through. Nice take on the minimalism idea :)

I laughed when I selected "magic" and that was suddenly disabled!

Overall pretty good, thanks for sharing :)

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

That was a really interesting interpretation of the game. Fighting *against* minimalist. You had me at "... he is a hipster..." :-)

That said, your game could use some polish - I feel that the pacing of the dialogue could do with some work - there is a LOT of dialogue, and it feels tiring quite fast.

Also, there is a bug after the "sewer" scene - the game becomes real time, but the dialogue does not stop the game. So the enemies keep attacking you while you desperately press Enter to get rid of the dialogue boxes.

Thanks for the game!

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

I enjoyed it, until the second battle scene (which I died on after about 4 minutes). The hit detection was heart to notice in a mass of people, and it was hard to target a specific person, especially losing 7HP/hit. I pretty much got swarmed. If you do another heavy dialogue game, I'd consider making it easier so you can actually see all the dialogue without killing your index finger with a million clicks a second :P

I'd make it hold to click too.

Other than that battle though, really cool idea. Enjoyed the original battle system and the storyline. Wish magic wasn't disabled though :P .

But yeah, nice one.

blay09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Yes, I didn't balance the second fighting system properly.
It depends on how lucky you get in the sewers, as the damage you take and give in the second fighting system depends on your level. You're either too weak and die (because you got unlucky in the sewers and got no random fights) or you're too strong and get 0 damage from everything. I've found that two fights are enough to survive the action battle. It's really a shame that most people won't see the epic boss fight after all, which I think turned out pretty nice.

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Its a game, about a game: Gameception

Tamik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Interesting game, but bugs prevented me from seeing the end. Still was quite entertaining.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Damn Hipsters...

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I loved this! Interesting spin on the theme of minimalism!

Rastagong says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:54am

Faking a MMORPG with an evil minimalist Gamemaster to beat, now THAT's an idea! Love it. The dialogs are very funny too, and I liked the JRPG parody side too.

The final battle was quite difficult though (the musical game), I only got what seems to be the bad end.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Excellent mechanic. You got a lot done - did you get any sleep or were you working on this for 48 hours straight? Either way, an excellent job, and nice to see libgdx.

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:11pm

So much done in 48h! Very cool.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:17pm

hahaha beautiful

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

pretty funny, couldn't get through the boss fight though. :P

May 2, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Really quite a lot of content for 48 hours, good job.

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Interesting idea. Wasn't much of a challenge but I did fail miserably at the guitar hero bit. Which keys to use was a bit too hard to see and it didn't help going sideways.
I liked the LOVE part. That was good.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:26pm

LOL another anti-hipster game!

infinitedog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Lol! You made it. I love your idea of a minimalistic game :D

Doublecaster says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I just loved this game. Finally found something with an awesome story which made me laugh. This is probably my favorite game so far :D

May 11, 2013 @ 2:41am

Interesting interpretation of the theme but I still ended up quite liking it. The meta-mechanics do give it a unique touch. Must say you did well with this.

cakemonitor says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:25pm

good game, funny too :)

May 15, 2013 @ 8:53pm

The storyline and the way it's implemented in the gameplay are absolutely hilarious. Excellent use of the theme. I love the fourth wall-breaking, the Gideon G. Graves-esque bad guy, various other things I don't want to spoil. The protagonists are quite nice characters as well.

On the downside, the final boss battle is just too hard for me (and you have to restart from scratch if you lose). I may come back and try to beat the game later, but I just don't have those rhythm skills.

Also, the graphics, while not bad, are a bit lacklustre (could be put down to the minimalist theme, I guess). The battles seem to be a bit badly scripted: the enemies just seemed to attack one of my party members, and would do zero damage a lot of the time. There are some typoes and other technical problems with the writing (for example, Kaye is referred to as "he" when she levels up).

All in all, it has some flaws, and the rhythm stuff is ludicrously difficult for me, but the plot and humour are top notch.

May 15, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Forgot to mention: the music is excellent.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

I really thought this was an online game, nice,

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]