April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Walk in the Dark

by LittleGreenFlame - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first finished LD game! Yea!

Tools used:
LMMS
Paint.NET
GIMP
Visual Studio 2012 for c#

I'm not sure of the best way to distribute the game to you guys so if you know of a better way then what I am doing please help a fellow programmer learn how to actually publish something. All you should have to do is download the zip with the .exe and run the setup... I think. Tell me if this doesn't work for you.

I had fun during this compo and can't wait until next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I regret having no arms. But I really like this game! Very nicely made and plays well.

magnpeas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:18am

Didn't work for me:( Not sure why

lambomang says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:03am

Nice game. Just wish I had arms.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:31am

It was too slow-moving for me.

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Great game. I made 3 or 4 ends but I couldn't retry the game because "Begin" get me to the end I previously got so I had to restart the game each time and "S" didn't worked.

Nice work you've done here, I love the writing of this.

May 2, 2013 @ 2:20am

Sadly I can't play it. I guess because it isn't made for Win32-systems?

"Prerequisite check for system component Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5 (x86 and x64) failed with the following error message:
"Installation of the Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5 is not supported on this operating system. Contact your application vendor.""

Guardian_Bob says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:40pm

You need to stick with .Net 3.5 or 4 if you want to support XP.

Additionally, I don't see your source, which is required for a 48 hour compo entry.

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:40am

very interesting little adventure :D, very curious how did you make this game in plain C# instead of using XNA

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]