April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

What is a Gravity?

by rejooh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first entry to a Ludum Dare competition, made in about 13 hours.

It is basically a n-body simulation with one playable entity. Try to become huge and proceed to the next level. There is no final level but it should become unwinnable at some point.

CONTROLS:
Arrow Keys to move
ESC to pause
ENTER to regenerate the current level

Best of luck, hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#375Overall3.35
#408Fun3.15
#408Theme3.68
#419Innovation3.29
#663Mood2.77
#804Graphics2.71
#936Humor1.71
#985Audio1.86

Comments

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

Interesting take on a classic gameplay mechanic (eat smaller ones to get bigger, avoid bigger ones, dominate).

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

could you maybe compile to java 6 for OSX?

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

Doesn't seem to be working on my Mac. From what I can understand in the description, it reminds me of another game called Osmos.

rejooh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36am

Compiled to Java 6. I'm sorry, I got no Macintosh to test it on, but it should work now, if not contact me again. Thanks for the feedback. An yes, the principle to become huge can be found in Osmos too.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Simple and nice gameplay. The controls are a bit messy, needs more acceleration!

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

The gravity simulation is really cool, nice work. The noises could use some work though, but it's pretty enjoyable overall

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Space, Space, Space... :'(
But I liked it.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Neat graphic style.

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Feels like Osmos crossed with Solar 2 :)

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

= quite fun :)

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:58am

Blue square must feed!

fussycashew says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Great game, with lots of fun, but the audio glitched out so much (getting really spammy and suddenly loud) that I couldn't keep playing.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:37pm

This idea is so awesome...
Its always kind of a rush to become big enough at the beginning of each level, but its really fun. Describing the entry as a "n-body simulation" pleases the nerd in me, but since it should be a game you could consider describing it as playing a particle, who wants to become a planet :P Oh boy, my fantasy is really animated by your game :D I really enjoyed playing it ^^

fysx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Great gameplay and mechanics! It seems to me as if the first 10 seconds are the crucial ones. Well done!

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:17pm

How much do you need for a game? Just rectangles!
It took me a little bit of time to get used to the acceleration, but after that I swallowed the rest like a cookie monster.
Fun.

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Very original and fun!

Note that in later levels it seems like it's too much luck dependent what hits what and when, so you're the first "juggernaut" around.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]