April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Attack

by mechagk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shoot red shapes with arrow keys of WASD.
Hit as many as possible and don't let them escape.
If you hit a shape, you will move to their place and take their shape.
You lose lives when shapes get out of the screen. You gain points when you shoot or collide with shapes.
Pause with 'ESC' or 'P'
Mute with 'M'

Engine: Unity3D
Graphics: Paint and GIMP
Music: autotracker.py
SFX: bfxr
Font: Noto Sans from http://www.google.com/fonts/

Tested on Windows, Mac and Linux. Web doesn't work on Linux.

My third Ludum Dare Entry. Hope you enjoy!
@MechaGK

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Innovation3.48
#662Audio2.52
#722Theme3.37
#922Fun2.59
#996Overall2.74
#1053Mood2.33
#1210Graphics2.11
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

MTO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

Interesting concept for a puzzle game. I think the shapes actually modifying the angles you can shoot at adds a lot of depth.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Ideas in the game are pretty nice!

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

nice idea, maybe it could be done better with more time, very basic at the moment. (but it fits the theme..:)

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Fun and I definitely like that different shapes fire on different vectors.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Interesting and minimalistic - it could be used as a base for a good puzzle game (endless gets boring fast)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Love the directional shift stuff. Didn't like that you could end up in a position of being vulnerable without an exit (and no ability to predict vulnerability).

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:04pm

A very interesting concept!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:27am

Really confusing at the beginning, some kind of in-game tutorial would be nice. Fairly original, could do with more polish

Hamumu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:05pm

It's pretty unfair for two reasons: first off, sometimes I got hurt for no reason at all! Just a flash and a life went away with nobody near me and me not firing. Secondly, as somebody else mentioned, sometimes you switch bodies and find that you're trapped into getting hit by something, and you couldn't have predicted it, since the guy who hits you was offscreen at the time.

It's a very original and weird idea, which is cool, but it needs the brutality taken out. I think it would work much better as a pure puzzle, like non-moving shapes and you have to find the combination of shots that would clear the board.

I really appreciated the thorough menu with multiple game modes, that kind of polish is cool to see in an LD entry.

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Rather different.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]