April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Misshapen

by Aaants - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD entry, complete with a world of rookie mistakes. Be gentle ;)

Please check out the site we made for my students during LD26 - http://www.lmcgames.co.uk - I'd much rather you spent time playing/responding to them!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#109Graphics3.89
#170Humor3.04
#404Mood3.09
#650Innovation3.00
#770Overall2.97
#795Audio2.28
#952Fun2.55
#1022Theme3.00

Comments

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

The instructions and scene transitions looked really great. Nice little story and very nice graphics.

JohnBroadley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48am

Love the idea, the game definitely has some potential. Looking forward to the follow-up!

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Looked and felt good. With better sounds and more content this could be great.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

I love how you used the shapes to define "weak" and "strong" and the idea is feeling great!

LionOfOrange says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Nice graphics. Liked it so far :)

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Transitions and graphics are pretty.
I liked the mood.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Great first entry and good job finishing something! It may not be the full vision that you had, but it is still a nice little playable adventure. I am sure next time you will cross the finish line! Great work.

figman123456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

This game turned out great and i know you put a lot of effort into it. As well as had great support ;) cant wait to see it finished!! Now to look at your source and figure out how to do the cool transition's :)

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55am

I really like how you applied the theme to the graphics.

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55am

good idea, nice work

Greg Power says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

I think I was missing something with the combat? I could only kill squares who were slightly behind me.

Otherwise, fantastic art style and charming narration!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55am

The effect with the narration is lovely (and the level transitions), and the graphical style in general works really well. I would have liked a back button for the cutscenes, just because I accidentally clicked past one that I hadn't read.

I wasn't really sure what I was doing, or if I was doing anything at all other than moving him by clicking. Maybe some instructions somewhere in regards to how combat works? Also the beating sound effect was a bit annoying, but that's easily fixed.

Overall it's a really cool little prototype! Well done for your first LD.

Nancybeast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great work! I really loved the concept of the game and I think that this definitely has potential. I'm, looking forward to the follow up!

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:44pm

looked and felt so good

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Triangles living in teepees...makes total sense!

Snail_Man says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:48pm

It was a fun game, although a little slow.

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nice job, it's a pity that you couldn't finish it, as the graphics and story were really promising.

I read your mini-postmortem, too, and it rang a bell...I made way too similar mistakes on my first LD as well. Congratulations anyway, keep at it! :D

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:38am

Cute game with really nice graphics. I love the way the transitions worked and the narration was charming. It somewhat reminded me of Thomas Was Alone. I wasn't sure what there was to the game other than clicking and (maybe?) clicking to the beat of the pulse. It has great potential though, and you did great for your first LD!

WiseGAMER says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice but needs improving. Nice heartbeat thing XD

May 5, 2013 @ 6:47am

Loved the art style and entire presentation. Game too unfinished to comment on. Would develop further and see what you can make out of it. Great art is a key start as it's the initial interest people have looking at a game. You have the hurdle cleared.

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Great in 48h ... I really loved the graphics ...

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:08am

Loved the art style, and I could definitely see where you were going with the idea. Has potential!

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:49am

I love the transitions, and the art, very creative game, but to be honest i was bored at the firsts screens

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]