April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Evil cubes

by raoz - Jam Entry

You are stuck in a world ruled by Evil Shapes, mostly Cubes. You try to escape, even though the odds are clearly not in your favor. You can only MELEE. For some reason, they seem to have separated all their rooms with glass. You need to break it, but be careful: the glass shards can hurt(maybe you can use that in your favor?).

**CONTROLS** (Configurable in standalone)
Use WASD to move
Use left mouse button or left control to attack shapes and destroy glass
Use mouse to aim

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Audio(Jam)2.92
#279Theme(Jam)3.23
#333Overall(Jam)2.96
#386Fun(Jam)2.58
#398Mood(Jam)2.55
#419Innovation(Jam)2.46
#477Graphics(Jam)2.42
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

Man, those cubes are evil! The first time I played was a bit confusing but it's nice, fun and the theme is well used.

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Quite fun, sounds effects are nice. ^_^

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I've always knew there is something evil in the geometry.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

That wasn't what i expected ! Good gameplay !

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Pretty well made game with an amusing concept. It was a little confusing at first because there's no visual indication of how/where you're attacking. My only other suggestion would be to tighten up the movement a bit; the inertia makes it pretty hard to dodge around. Good job!

vgcharlienash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Really fun and a nice art style, reminds me a bit of Gravity bone/Thirty Flights of Loving

Metamist says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Those cubes are using aim bot, that's for sure. Very fun and challenging game.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Fun and interesting, but became really hard really fast. Second level I got swamped in the second room by two black cubes and then a red cube and a blue ball came in from the adjoining rooms. I put up a good fight but in the end, the evil shapes won and now rule supreme in the white labyrinth ;_;

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Quite hard game at first but I dig the concept!

The movements feels a bit slippery. Often times one needs finer controls to dodge properly.

It seems to be possible to shoot only at a very short range. That makes being hit by shards quite an easy feat.
Would be of great feedback to the player if you added some kind of visual hint on every mouse action.

spliter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Had some probems with it, the controlling is extremely floating and you have to get so freakishly close to the shapes that the black cubes just destroy you without any chance :(

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Difficult game. I was a little confused. I guess it was melee?

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:57am

I enjoyed the music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]