April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BE A CUBE

by AnnynN - 48 Hour Compo Entry

BE A CUBE is a minimalistic jump and run.

It was created with Love2d. It's a bit short, but it's still fun to play.

To play on Linux or Mac, download the needed runtime from http://www.love2d.org/, and start the .love file. The source is also available.

I hope you have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#328Audio3.08
#363Mood3.13
#404Theme3.69
#452Graphics3.18
#496Fun3.05
#596Overall3.13
#819Humor1.88
#1271Innovation1.95

Comments

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Very neat aesthetic and the game feels pleasant. I wish that there was more game to play.

Kudos on the solid visual presentation and good controls!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

very nice colors! made the mood seem nice, and it followed the theme well! too short!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Nice visual style! :)

AnnynN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

Thank you!:) Well, it's my first LudumDare and I had some problems with time management, so I hadn't enough time to make the game any longer.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

This is a great game, I like the artstyle !
I would just play it a little more ;)

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

sometimes we must all know what it's like to be a cube. good controls! i also like how your cube changes color. wish there was more there.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55am

Neat! Runs well and fits the theme perfectly!

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59am

Simple idea, nailed the concept, smooth gameplay, fun and lovely music ...nice experience, thanks

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

Unfortunately it's really too short, I'd have loved to keep playing this game; the controls are perfectly responsive, the music is nice and it's perfect for the competition theme (but the sooo white background hurts my eyes lol)

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Smooth gameplay, some bugs here and there but overall pretty good :) needs more levels! :p

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Short and sweet. Excellent use of colors and game mechanics!

bentog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

The aesthetic is beautiful and the background song makes a great atmosphere, fitting the theme very well. The only cons are its short lenght and its genericness (it's like any other common platformer). Anyway, great job!

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Simple and cool game!

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

This is one of the best games I have played from this LD so far. The colors look very clean, and fits the font very nicely. The game also controls really well. As other people has said, the game is way too short. Good job though!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Very smooooooooth visuals and calming music. You nailed the visual aspect of the theme! Very short, but still pleasant to play! It controls very well.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

This game has a very nice feel. The controls are really good, the graphics and music too. Too bad it was pretty short! But keep it up!

alts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22am

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare. Nice groundwork here for something more developed. I really liked the aesthetic of the intro screen. Something about the color choice and font. I was taken aback by my square hitting the top of the screen. I guess I've always taken for granted that in platformers the character can rise above the screen.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

Pretty! I was suprised by how nice the physics of the game feel, except the wall jump which feels very unpredictable (I guess because I was holding down space during jumps).

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Veeeery short. The music was cool, so were the colors. The gameplay is very common.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Very fun. Could have been longer. Great job.

leafo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Really smooth controls and colors, way too short though! Nice music.

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:03am

Kind of soothing, great work!

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:53am

Wish is was a bit longer. Good job!

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06am

By trying really hard the minimalist theme you also achieved a pretty good game in mood category too :) Not a lot to said about the game. The color are nice, and this "be a cube" title screen animation is gold.

ryuurei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47pm

The music and visual aesthetics were both very nice and soft. They gave off a great relaxing feeling. Sound was very pleasant- a great part of the game.
It didn't have a lot going for it to make it really fun, but it was pleasant enough to play. The controls were great.
Certainly very minimal. Not bad at all!

ashdnazg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:56am

The music was really wonderful!

May 5, 2013 @ 1:00am

There was some jitter on the mac build; weird framerate/wallclock interactions?

May 5, 2013 @ 1:12am

Love the "wheel-of-fortune"esque intro :D

May 8, 2013 @ 1:07pm

A very calming game. The platforming gameplay was solid. I only wish it was longer.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:09am

The game seemed like a very solid base for a platformer, congrats on getting it to handle so well~! I agree with other people that the game was maybe too short, but it was still very pleasant. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]