April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

COLORUS

by JokerDen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You can play at Newgrounds with scoreboards and ad or without at free web-hosting.

***Description***
Minimalistic gameplay and art. Switch background color to destroy obstacles before they hit you. But if you switch to wrong background color you lose to.

***Instruments***
Adobe Flash CS6
FlashDevelop 4
sfxr
FL Studio 9
mouse (no tablet)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#66Innovation3.93
#70Graphics4.06
#77Overall3.83
#94Fun3.64
#115Theme4.07
#182Humor2.98
#215Audio3.28
#300Mood3.20

Comments

Zccc says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:05pm

So smooth and nice! Very good.

Perry says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I found this rather humorous, and bloody tricky. Very gamy, feels good to play. Solid entry.

GameRespect says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

I really like the animation and the concept of this game. Even though the gameplay is simple, it feels quite polished. One of my favourites so far! :)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

I like the graphics, very minimalistic, but pleasant. Gameplay is unusual and fun too.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Very smooth game (especially the animations)... The gameplay's also challenging yet very fun :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Oh that is a great idea. Nice work!

JFlegle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

This game is well made and a great idea, port to android, make a million dollars, done.

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Very well done! I like the idea and the execution is good, though I would have hoped that it would automatically disregard colors that are too close to each other. Gray, white and marin don't mix well.
I like the music!

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57am

Great presentation and gameplay, good job!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18am

Amazing graphics, awesome game play, minimal and really awesome!

Yakka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Very pleasant to play.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Multi color poop for the win. i really enjoyed playing this!

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Love the graphic design in this game and great job coming up with this fresh game design.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice game, I did not imagined poo could be so dangerous.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Very smart concept, well done!

saguaro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I liked your disclaimer, but truly I enjoyed the music along with everything else.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Great take on the theme, minimal, challenging and fun.

marnaouf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Really fun game built around a really awesome concept.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40am

Great concept, would like some sound, however.

Diamonde says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06am

I find nothing that I didn't like in this game :D

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Brilliant! Starts easy enough but soon gets quite difficult.

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Neat concept! The graphics are very clean and the style is perfect.
I wish it were more difficult, or got more difficult faster.

Frosnite says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:29pm

My gf liked it a lot :P

henrykun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:20am

Very nice, really. It has good graphics, sound and gameplay, good work!.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:46am

Ah, very nice take on the genre. Clever mechanic.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:23am

Like this so much! Polished, great game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Great concept, great execution. This is a very good game!

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Wow! This is so cool! Briliant concept that fits theme perfectly! Very very good job!

naughtyloose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:25pm

pretty well done!

Husky says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:03am

Pretty awesome!
Simple yet brilliant, and matching the theme!
Good job!:D

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:09am

Nice animation and mechanics, good job!

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Clever mechanic and very stylish graphical style. Well done!

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Nice concept :) Need to be able to play this game with my Guitar Hero controller :D

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:09am

Awesome! The "color it away" concept here is very out-of-the box.

almosoka says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:34am

great music, clever game.

danblack says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:03am

Nice concept well executed.

itsZN says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very Nice :D The only thing I don't like is that you lose if you pick the wrong color. Other than that, it is a very nice entry.

mrexcessive says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Very novel mechanic, love how silky smooth everything is.
Great job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Nice concept and minimal gameplay, I liked the atmosphere too.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Nice presentation, graphics and animation. The gameplay is a bit too reduced for me (a kind of quizz).

Msquirrel says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I liked it, Very nice visually, very minimal, very nice

Xanjos says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Really nice concept. Loved how the colour palette changes every play. Overall, a fun, addictive and pretty challenging game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]