April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Epic Adventure

by frogmaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here it is! RPG within 12 pixels! 2 types of enemies, 7 attributes, 4 unique skills - everything on 4x3px display!

!!! IMPORTANT !!!
Make sure to download the manual as well as the game! And at least skim through it before the first launch. I know the whole manual is a rough 15 minutes of reading but since all You can get ingame are 12 pixels and not even one hint, the game is unplayable without proper preparation!

Oldschool, isn't it?

Plus, there is a hidden potato in the game.

EDIT: You can now exit by pressing Alt+F4.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Theme4.27
#152Innovation3.69
#798Graphics2.72
#812Overall2.93
#906Mood2.53
#1135Fun2.27
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

moomoo112 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00am

wow is that minimal! it starts off awfully hard outside of the house though, I wasn't able to make it far..

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Argh, it made me have to restart the computer. The screen did went black. That never happened to me using this OS yet (Linux Mint 12). Congrats.

frogmaster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54pm

@kddekadenz: I'm sorry. I've tested it on Ubuntu 12.04 and Windows 7 x64 and it always worked very well. Be sure to use the newest stable version of Love2d (0.8). For instance, on the Ubuntu Marketplace is still old version, 0.7 !
I've been using Love engine for some time, saw a lot of weird code but still it is first time i hear about such a problem... Sorry, I will try other Linux distributions!

May 3, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Are the green strips with a blue pixel that come up sometime an uncrossable river? Love it :)

mildmojo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I played in Mint, too. It would be better if the game started in window mode since you don't use any conventional keys to exit. I had to drop to console mode and kill the process the first time I tried it (and before I read the manual).

I wish I had the patience to see everything you put in. I love the concept of a lo-fi presentation with a huge manual to explain it, but I didn't have much fun past the first couple of times I looked up a message.

I couldn't figure out what I was seeing in the initial room, I just sort of hit arrow keys and looked up messages until I found a way out. The dining room made a lot more sense. I never did find the castle; I think I was eaten by a wolf.

It would be great if the manual showed a few screen shots with labels/explanations written on top of the pixels. Or, if you could live with the compromise, it would be great if the pixels were labeled in-game until you defeated your first enemy. Or maybe all pixels could be labeled, with a "hardcore" mode to turn the labels off.

frogmaster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Thank You for Your comments. They are really helpful. The game was supposed to be oldschool but it turns out that I've exaggerated a bit...
I'm working on the quick reference sheet. It is a good idea, thanks!
Also, I noticed that the forest level is too difficult for the beginners.

Tainted_Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:59pm

cool little game!

arkeus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Definitely an interesting game. I really liked how different I had to think just to understand what was going on with 4x3 resolution, since a single movement would change the entire screen which my head wasn't used to thinking about.

I did kind of get stuck not really knowing what was going on as I walked around. When I tried to exit I found escape and alt f4 didn't work... Had to control+shift+escape to kill it via process manager.

frogmaster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Ok. I confess that I did a little fix here. Because it was really annoying, You can now exit by pressing Alt+F4. That's all :)

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Hmm, took a bit of getting used to and I'm still not quite sure what I actually accomplished or failed to accomplish while playing. I got some red areas, some dark blue, some light blue, and then just a bunch of moving around.

I did notice that on the title screen (the pulsating white pixels) if I pressed esc the game would crash but while in-game there was no way to quit.

All in all, an interesting experiment!

manax says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:47am

Hmm, had problems unzipping on windows. Also tried cygwin unzip, which also didn't work.

Spiridios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:01am

Zip is corrupt. I tried running the .love file in love 0.8.0, but all I get are randomly blinking white squares and nothing seems to do anything (could be operator error, I've never used love before).

frogmaster says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:40pm

@manax, Thank You. My last upload was interrupted and therefore, the archive wasn't complete. I've replaced it.

@Spirdios, You got intro screen. Congratulations, it worked! Try to press Enter button. Remember to read the instructions. This game's form require User to do it and without manual is completaly unplayable.

May 16, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Wow that is a really cool idea and looks awesome. Maybe there is a way you can include a beginner mode or tutorial section that has on screen text explaining what is going on? Also you might want to open it in windowed mode so players can switch back and forth to the manual easier! With such a simple display scheme maybe you could figure out a way to simplify the play mechanics also, it is a bit overwhelming.

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

It seemed epic allright until I found out it starts fullscreen and only escapes with Alt+F4. Sad. The idea is really cool though. I would love to see this on my phone.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Not a valid Win32 application... Looks like this require a 64-bit system, I just have an old 32-bit laptop running WIndows XP at hand.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Ha, I downloaded that LÖVE thing and got your game running! Now I'm not patient enough to go through the manual and understand everything, but I kinda see where you were going. That's indeed very minimalist :)

May 18, 2013 @ 7:45pm

this is so outside of the box, it's in a completely different box. The one labeled "bizarre". I see how the game is minimalistic, but the .pdf is a load of information, and IS a part of the game. But every new idea is welcome.

kibertoad says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Trying to play this is painful, but I give you bonus points for creativity.

f7f5 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Really awesome idea. Very hard to get into (a 14 page manual isn't exactly minimal :) ), but it looked so cool I had to keep trying until at least I completed something. At last I managed to leave the house, but kept getting killed by bees or wolves (I'm not a RPG fan).

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Top score for theme ;) Nice to see, what you have acomplished on that resolution. Its actually a little time-consuming to get started, since you need to know how the game works. That is kind of risky for ludum dare, but I like your game. Great work!

PaulSB says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Got to give you credit for a very cool concept here! I can't say I got very far or especially enjoyed it but there is a sort of magic to the looking up messages by colour code and such. Great interpretation of the theme :)

FREEZX says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Woah. A bit too minimal for me xD. Very clever. I like the unique approach to minimalism you took.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]