April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keypad Trainer Turbo

by sol_hsa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple C/C++ SDL game primarily targetting Emscripten, but the windows and linux binaries work as well.

Note that the first game starts from 1 character per second, but when you restart, it'll start from 75% of your max speed from the last game. So, please do give it a couple runs. See if your keypad typing speed improves..

For those without a keypad, the "top row" number keys work as well.

There's no sound, so please don't rate me on audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#235Theme3.89
#714Humor2.00
#747Fun2.77
#794Innovation2.81
#996Overall2.74
#1125Mood2.21
#1298Graphics1.82

Comments

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

This is pretty fun. Makes me wish I had a numpad

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

I'm improving bit by bit. A fun and useful trainer.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19am

This shows me that i should have gone into a career of data entry.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

Would work best with a numpad, but game worked fine on Linux.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

Brilliant way to teach someone to 10-key.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Weird idea! Good execution!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Nice use of theme, good implementation of the idea. I found myself better using the number row rather than a keypad, but I guess I could train to use it. Make another version with pi digits or something the player can memorise (although this has been done before)

Kimau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

aaa battle I'm having nam flashbacks to working in a bank...

Fun game ^_^

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I wish I could see "type this" display as series of 3-5 numbers, which I find the easier way. :D Anyway, a nice game. I'm more effective with the number row than numpad though!

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53am

Surprisingly fun and effective.

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I keep clocking in on just below 3.2. It would probably be easier to type fast if it wasn't stressful! Anyway, good training.

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38pm

easy, simple, fun. Awesome :)

May 1, 2013 @ 10:13am

See comment on video. Full points for theme.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:48am

What a really cool idea! Full points for theme and innovation.

May 2, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Good game i like it, nice for train with my numpad :D

free_napalm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Good design.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:52am

I get about 3.5, I wish I used my numpad on my laptop more. Having to hit backspace when I fat-finger 2 keys annoys me :(

Uhfgood says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:56am

I suck at the numpad

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:48pm

That's pretty unique. I've seen plenty of typing trainers, but this is the first time I see a keypad trainer.

Cheers!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Reminds me of a summer job I had about 30 years ago as a VDU operator, except I was clearly better at it then than I am now. Some sound would have been nice.

voxel says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:45pm

This did nothing to help with my lack-of-numpad data entry speed anxiety

cardboard says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Surprisingly fun. Also, surprisingly stressful.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]