April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Round Box

by Webravenz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arcade rythm game, sort of minimalist guitar hero. The game has minimalist gameplay with 3 keys, minimalist design and minimalist sounds.

How long will you survive with this stressfull rythm acceleration ?

you can comment with your best score ;)

Made with Haxe NME

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#116Audio3.55
#140Fun3.55
#153Theme4.00
#158Overall3.66
#251Innovation3.52
#307Graphics3.41
#501Mood2.95
#975Humor1.65

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:42pm

When I first stated I thought it was going to be easy, I was dead wrong. Interesting idea. Well made.

semi says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Nice idea, and I love the drum effects!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Really great spin on the "runner" genre of games! Nice and clean graphics and simple controls. I could totally see this as a mobile game!

m4cgregor says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Good idea ! Really fun, and... it's rock !

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Very nice idea, and indeed, much harder than you think first (at least if you try to collect bonuses).

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Really pretty game.
You could make this into a mobile game pretty easily it feels like. Tilt the phone to move left and right and press anywhere on the screen to toggle between the colors :)

tudd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55pm

5/5!

Drum sounds were epic.
Also, roboto <3 <3 <3

plays very nicely.

tudd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

try and beat 179 :P

tudd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

I'm having trouble rating other games because this is too fun! You have something great on your hands here...

Webravenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Thanks for comments, it's encouraging !

I thinked of a mobile version indeed, would work very well, I will probably work on that soon ;)

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

so awesome, love the audio and style

Alink says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:18am

Well done. I am usually not a fan of this kind of rhythm based game, but this one is really cool. The simple toggle mechanism is so much nicer than the usual multi-color/keys stuff, especially when the speed increased.

I think what I like is that you must quickly choose between options (toggle or strafe, get the bonus or not), instead of being forced to follow a fixed sequence.

Great sounds choice too.

karlin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I like it, very simple concept but beautifully presented. Very nice work on the audio too.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Very nice, great take on the theme. Thank you!

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Nice! Fun game. Although only two colors (not including black) they compliment each other well and are not painful on the eyes. Presentation and execution are clean simple and effective. Well done. I suck at it but still, good show!

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Pretty cool idea!

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Nice and original concept

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Simple but fun! Maybe you should add a cool background music? :D

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:40am

like the drum sounds, adds to the fun

KHANanaphone says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:41pm

193, gets interesting near the end, but I don't really want to play the slow beginning again to get there.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:01pm

This is a really fun and addictive game. The audio fits the game very well. The only problem is that the pace at the beginning is very slow.

mrexcessive says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Like this... enjoyable and stressful at the same time. Bass on change colour good move.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]