April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Duck vs. Balloon

by lun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, guys. It's my first time solo participation in LD. It's my game about a duck, who wants to burst a balloon. He he. You have only one shoot. After unsuccessful shoot you can find new bullet in the left corner of level.


Move duck with arrows, jump with space, and shoot with x!

I used this stuff:
engine: https://github.com/cocos2d/cocos2d-html5/
art: http://pyxeledit.com/
music: http://christophernight.net/stuff/atrk-c-edit.py
sounds: http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/

Thanks a lot for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#327Humor2.61
#374Audio3.00
#1170Graphics2.18
#1188Mood2.04
#1236Coolness49%
#1264Innovation1.97
#1292Fun1.83
#1301Overall2.17
#1331Theme2.21

Comments

Yaka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

I smash it in 7 seconds. Wanna more baloons!

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52am

i want more balloons! i like the ms painted title/ending screens.

Joritan Cety says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

I really like the music :)

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

The duck is sooooo heavy...

qgi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I want more balloons, too. Very nice music!

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

no sound in firefox.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23am

need more levels and the duck moved way too slow -- nice effort

lun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48am

Thanks for comments!
@yetanother i've tested in firefox right now - you right :(

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Didn't really understand what I was supposed to be doing and ended up getting an error when I jumped near the top of the screen. :(

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:47pm

A duck with a rocket launcher? Now, that's an interesting idea! :-)

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Cool! I think the balloon moves a little too fast (it was hard to set up shots) and the collision between the balloon and bullet is maybe a little too generous (I popped the balloon when my bullet didn't even get within a duck-width of the balloon). The semi-crude cartoony art style actually works for me - fits the subject material well. Music is neat.

Per says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Fun, simple and happy game!
Love the simple graphics :)

cakemonitor says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:19pm

simply but fun. it would be nice if the duck moved a bit faster and if there were mare stages

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]