April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cpt. Sqrjaw

by vapgames - Jam Entry

Get to the VAN!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#18Fun(Jam)3.89
#43Overall(Jam)3.82
#48Humor(Jam)3.43
#60Graphics(Jam)4.11
#96Mood(Jam)3.55
#189Audio(Jam)3.19
#228Innovation(Jam)3.13
#307Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25am

oh god, they blue my head off!

Elisée says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Very nice game! Love the crazy physics-based movement and the art style :)

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

That's awesome! I kept getting stuck in the first pit there, but I still think it's a lot of fun. And the audio was a nice touch as well. One of these days I'll figure out how to do that so well. :)

If you intend to work on this more, may I suggest making the platforms move from side to side if you lean them enough? I totally tried to explore of to the left. Didn't work so well. :)

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

HAHA Yes! I love the gameplay, but the controls themselves were strange. This game is a real blast to play!

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19am

Looks and feels great. It looks like everything is made with primitives. I'm impressed!

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:16am

Pretty cool art style! I like how everything is made with squares, I guess that's minimalism! I also like how you use the dead bodies as some sort of way to progress through the level!

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

I loved piling the blocky remains of my enemies to climb the wall to the next section. Definitely fun :)

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Game style is amazing! Beautiful animations and good use of physics. Congrats!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Why is it not working web version! Cool art!

dissonance says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Pretty fun. Good job!

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:35am

Well that was short, panicky, and a blast to play! Using enemies as a resource was great, as were all of the physics platforms. I would love to play more of this!

vapgames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Thanks!

jpverkamp, oh, i just realised it's possible to jump over the lava and fall outside the level.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:48am

Great art style and music. Character controls were tight.

WhatTheTeam says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I loved the physics ! Very pleasant to play !! But hard to reach the end !

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:17pm

You got the graphics to bounce and loll perfectly, especially the soldier movement. It made the whole thing feel very playful.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Great physics,gfx and music. Sadly it was so short. Would love to see more :)

May 2, 2013 @ 2:50pm

My god. I like this game so much that after have played it online i downloaded it for keep it on my pc! Great Sound, amazing graphic and amazing physics. The physics is something completly crazy!! Please, continue to develop it!! :)

With what tools/engine you made this game?

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Nice game! I found the keyboard controls a bit tricky though. It has great looks, the physics are nice and I liked to have to pile enemies! Good job!

Jiddo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Very cool graphics and physics style. Fast paced and fun, even tho is was a bit too easy to get stuck in a pile of corpse parts and die as a result.

The game played just fine on Linux using Wine, but I couldn't get the controller to work out of the box. Probably just needed some wine tweaking to work tho.

Only problems I had with it was the keyboard controls. Z and X just didn't feel natural for me. I'd much rather use WASD to walk (and jump) and then use space to blast people into pieces. :)

Great work!

rubna says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:36am

WOW! This is AWESOME!

May 3, 2013 @ 9:36am

Haha awesome game! I love piling up the blocky enemies to make a path. It's extremely hard though, the controls feel unnatural to me. z should be jumping, x firing.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:42am

BTW, after finally passing the level, unity gives me a fatal error. Not the ending I was hoping for :P

vapgames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Riccardo Stucchi, thanks, i used Unity with my animation system (animation editor + playback libraries), Flash+Photoshop for graphics, and FL Studio with Massive VST for music.
I'll post a postmortem with more details and timelapse later!

KEFIR says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Очень круто! Анимация и физика на высоте, получилось весьма динамично :)

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:47am

The art is amazing, the physicsness to the art style is great. Here because of the 10s video. The game was pretty hard, I had a hard time getting anywhere.

pythong says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:10pm

the keyboard is very annoying for german players, where Z and Y are reversed...would have preferred a different keyset :/. otherwise, nice game

martijn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Looks amazing. Goes to show that great animation is more important than high-res textures.

I figured out I could also shoot up and down only after having almost finished.

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Where are the sources?

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Oh it's jam :) ok

vapgames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:09am

Here's the postmortem:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/05/cpt-sqrjaw-postmortem-walkthrough-timelapse-and-stuff/

_Rilem says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:59am

The gameplay wasn't that special. But the way it moves is just pure gold. It makes the game feel responsive and gives a really polished look. The blog post you made really shows what an impressive tech this is. If the animation system was on the asset store, I'd definitely buy it! :)
The music was awesome as well.

Good job!

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:06pm

GREAT game! So unforgiving though, would have been 5 stars for overall from me if the game was a little more forgiving. more life or something

pereubu says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Great job on the code, animations are also great. The game is just probably a bit too hard.

But i like it overall, great job :D

hughsk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:27pm

The animation and physics were handled really well - it does get hard *really* fast though! Great work :)

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:49am

I just like it

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Really liked the physics-based movement. Was a bit too challenging to me ;P

8BitPimp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Very nice, and the physics are very nice for the character. Great work.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Great fun game. Loved messing around with enemy body parts.

vrinek says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I don't think it matches the theme but it is a fun little game. I really missed the sound effects though.

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:45pm

One of the best minimalist art direction I saw for this Ludum Dare. Character designs are very good ; characters movements and shoot settings too. Very fun. I like to jump higher thank to the enemies body exploded.

What a pity there is no sounds! And controls are a bit difficult, maybe the jump with the -up- arrow might be better. And an item to heal might be a good idea too.
Sorry for my bad English.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:38am

It's like a squishy, bouncy playground. Sound effects would add a lot. I had a hard time getting very far in the game, but it was still fun to play.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Great animation and control. There are a bug when you jump on the lava (the screen become blue).

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:18am

Pure hectic fun, just as it should be! I could see this being fleshed out with levels and related nonsense very well. Great art, too. Well done.

Alprog says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:27am

Enemies fly into pieces according to the laws of physics! And sometimes you need create a mountain of corpses to climb up and complete a game o_O I like it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]