April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Less is More

by Joror - 48 Hour Compo Entry

== ABOUT THE GAME ==

This is a game of exploration & experimentation. Look around. Then follow commands, if you want.
Replay to experience all the different aspects!

Don't like the looks? Reload! Its procedurally colored & (partly) generated.


== DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO? ==

Then look at these hints. But try not to. Leave your feedback below. (I would like to hear if I was too subtle / things are broken)

Hint 1: Click on the Monolith when he wants you to 'reach out'.
Hint 2: The red menace are the red cubes running around, you might need to search
Hint 3: No effect? Get a little bit closer perhaps.
Hint 4: =Keep clicking= on things, critters, and see if they change! The more you change, the more powers you will get, and the closer you get to 'the end'.

== EASTER EGG ==

Find the Potato! First one to spot & post it in the comments gets an extra-extensive review + comment for their game! :)
(if I have not already reviewed it ofcourse)

== WHERE IS I AT? ==

Twits at https://twitter.com/McDaan
Bloggins at http://joror.tumblr.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#282Mood3.22
#331Graphics3.37
#515Innovation3.17
#615Humor2.15
#619Overall3.11
#810Theme3.28
#817Fun2.70
#871Audio2.15

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

I couldn't figure out anything to do. But it was weirdly compelling just to run around...

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Cool and cryptic. But what does it all mean? :D

"I'm getting a strong Proteus vibe..." I mumbled, as a glowing sphere merrily passed me by.

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

@gilmore606:
Approach the Monolith and it will instruct you.

Hint 1: click on the Monolith when he wants you to 'reach out'.
Hint 2: The red menace are the red cubes running around
Hint 3: Keep clicking on things, critters, and see if they change! The more you change, the more powers you will get.

@ilo:
Ah you have met the Wisp - the 'opponent' to the Monolith. Where the Monolith is the Minimaliser, the Wisp is the Enricher. Sadly I did not implement the Wisp 'branch' of the game due to time constraints.

robertcupisz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

That's a pretty damn funky game! ;)

Btw, to disable the context menu: http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/Manual/WebPlayerBehaviorTags.html

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Ahh thanks robertcupisz! I hope I can still fix that, so annoying otherwise...

domrein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Interesting game. Great fit for the theme. Everything was pretty intuitive but it froze when I started clicking the snake of red cubes.

Languard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Not really feeling the theme, other than 'mimimal' instructions :p

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I have heard that there are crashes, which version did you use, Windows or Web?

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

That was ... cool, very "Proteussy" with this dark monolith telling you what to do, i liked it a lot. Nice FX by the way :D

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Quite weird, I love the procedural colors.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Abstract to say the least...

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

A very strange experience (in a positive way) and interesting take on the theme (minimalizing the world). I solved all the puzzles but needed the first hint (didn't expect clicking as a relevant input method).

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Strange but interesting. I'm the potato ;)

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00pm

That is good to hear Jermias! As always, the ability of the maker to anticipate the player is hard. :)

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

@Norrit42 Haha yes, excellent! ;)

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Oh darnit, just got home from work, and played the version I submitted. I broke half the game accidentally in the last push. :( Bugfix alert! For those who played before this... there was a whole bit skipped in the middle of the game! I have fixed this now.
*grumble* numbers *grumble* refactorsplactor *grumble*

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Quite abstract, but I still had weird fun playing around. Didn't quite make it to the end (I think?)

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Strange but interessting.
Didn't really figue out what to do at first, had to read you tips (and click on everything)

Minimized.
Simplified.
In 6 Minutes. ;)

good job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Cool game, kinda psychedelic... must play again when not soooo sleeeeepy... :)

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I give you an more extensive version since i realized my last one was a bit short compared to your creative feedback.:)
The game relay need to be played multiple times to understand the best feelings of the game. I smiled so when i did found the small cute red blocks bouncing around in a group. I got scared/surprised when the green arrows suddenly did start to attack me. I did felt sad for the last guy(with text). But my point is that I did only "understand" the game after my fifth run and all of the runs where so different. You should relay point this out so the player understand the replay value.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

A very different game. I felt like I was being tricked by this monolith. Curious how one can feel such distrust for a square and some text.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I thought I wasn't going to like the game but as I played I began to love it. Really original, must minimalize everything!

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

@Norritt42

Thanks for the review - the feels experienced are fun to know! And have added the 'replay is good' to the about-the-game section. ;)

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

I like it quite a bit. The "crap-ify the world" theme was interesting.

Menaces are funny!

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

This is great! It's appeals to my OCD traits much in the same way that Katamari does, though instead of rolling everything up I want to try to minimize everything.

The only thing I would look into is the somewhat wonky camera controls. If I right click and hold, and then move my mouse outside of the game's viewport, I'll be able to move the camera around regardless of whether or not I'm holding the right mouse button down.

Otherwise, I really enjoyed it!

CNIAngel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

This is pretty fun. Hard to look around while moving. I didn't mind it tho.

chowdy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I didn't enjoy it at first, but once my powers became clear, I had a lot of fun painting over the world's unnecessary details ;)

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I was falling out of the map and I couldn't restart the level by pressing any key :D But I loved the Setting very much... Work of art..

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:07am

Interesting concept. I enjoyed running around the world, and being called a potato for falling off! A little confusing, but I had fun once I got the hang of it.

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Awesome! 9.9/10 for "that is suboptimal". Very fun. Hate the green/cyan spaceship disc things, tough to paint

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:21pm

An amazing game! Great use of FPS, the view is never confusing and the speed is thrilling.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

What a great experience, reminded me a bit of Proteus :) I liked the tiny clues given by the giant letters, the feeling of true exploration, and the many little things one can find.

Morgawr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I didn't know what to do, then I clicked on the monolith and it became clearer. Controls are weird and "oily" but the game itself has some really great mood. It's really weird. Not sure if good or bad, haha.

S0larCode says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:38pm

This is suboptimal. You potato.

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Weird atmosphere. Controls are confuse but after a while I got to acomplish a few things (but didn't finish the game). Original.

ArkadyDracul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice!

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Nice atmosphere and idea.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Mmm, maybe I'm just not skilled enough, but I had trouble completing this. I couldn't find anything red, the game movement was hard to control, and there was no atmospheric music. I did like the graphic style and thought the pink trees really made me seem in a foreign environment, but can't really see how it has anything to do with the theme

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Notes:

- Pre-game options! First one I've seen for LD26. Good on you.
- In! I see a monolith.
- Very loud sound effect. "Reach out to me!"
- I hit the monolith. Nothing happened. Hmmm.
- Woah, I am very high up right now.
- Oh. Heheh. If you hold down S while facing the ground, you can go as high as you want.
- The view from up here reminds me of the time I broke Assassin's Creed.
- I fell off the map. The monolith is calling me suboptimal and a potato.
- I will restart the game. Weird, Windows says it crashed when I closed it.
- Oh. You have to click on the monolith. "I HAVE GIVEN YOU POWER", "SEEK A RED MENACE". Very well, then. Off we go.
- I clicked on some red bouncing cubes and that grating sound played again. "CONGRATULATIONS". "THE SKY IS THE LIMIT". Not my limit, pal!
- I see flying triangles. Anything to do with that?
- I can paint the map. I see a potato.
- That grating sound played again. "THE WORLD RESISTS. MINIMALIZE".
- I am painting everything. It is now winter. Welcome to Skyrim.
- How much do I have to paint?
- Those red cubes don't like me. They are pushing me away.
- Can't seem to do anything about these cubes. Ah, I just have to be very close and click a lot.
- That sound again. "THE FINAL STEPS", "THINK BIG".
- Now I am removing those sprout-like things.
- I removed the entire map. "IT IS DONE". "DON'T YOU FEEL BETTER NOW?". Now that I am done!
- "WAS THAT REALLY NECESSARY?", the sphere asks. Yes.
- I am hanging out on top of the monolith. I can't destroy this thing!

Things I would change:

- Make the sound effect less painful.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I really liked the aesthetic and the vibe. Bouncing around was surprisingly fun, even though that control scheme feels extremely weird. I quite liked how it ended, and the way everything was devolving (the opposite of most games that follow this general line of reasoning).

I just really wanted more audio. I started playing my own music, and I don't really think that Led Zepplin was what you had in mind.

(11 minutes BTW).

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I can fly! http://i.imgur.com/w14vmW2.jpg

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:12pm

The graphics remind me of Outcast and First contact Planetfall.
There could have been some ambient sounds to heighten the mood.
Otherwise a spiffy production.

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Interesting concept! I minimalised everything >D

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Mood is very good, yet strange, but controls are odd and slippery.
Overall atmosphere is excellent, yet intriguing.

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Thanks for the game, I like the directions from the monolith, but the controls made me feel lost quickly - it would be good if the movements of the player had a bit more of drag to them.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:53pm

The controls are pretty hard to take in hand, and I was a bit confused on what to do at first... In the end, very nice mood, the psychedelic but yet simplistic aspect of the graphics and level design make this game fit the theme.

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Strange game, in the good way. When i go near the monolith i feel like the monkey in 2001: a space odissey

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:39am

cool aestethic, but i would prefer with more gameplay.

May 20, 2013 @ 4:45am

Interesting launching mechanic and liked a lot of the small touched. I did reach the thing, but nothing happened... Ah well, intriguing but a bit confusing and empty feeling.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]