April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dropblocks

by Doctor Broccoli - Jam Entry

Are you ready to journey through BULLET HELL!?

---

Controls & instructions:

WASD : Move around
Spacebar : Destroy blocks (You need ammo to do this.)
Escape : Kill yourself (Use this when you make the mistake of locking yourself in somewhere)

---

Blue blocks: These are anchor blocks that keep the level afloat. When a block is no longer attached to an anchor, it will break loose and fall. Anchors cannot be destroyed.

Green blocks: Turrets, these fire bullets that hurt you.

Yellow pickups: Ammo, you need this to destroy blocks.

Red pickups: Will grant you 3 extra seconds.

---

- The goal of the game is to destroy as much of the level as possible. You do this by slicing chunks off of the level. The game is over when you run out of time or life.
- Work fast! You get a score multiplier that slowly ticks down, so points you earn in the beginning of the game are worth more than the points you earn at the end of the game.
- Conserve your ammo! You'll lose points if you spend your ammo carelessly.

---



EDIT:
It looks like the game doesn't work properly for some people. I think I forgot to include one of the DLL's neccesary to run the game. That should be fixed now (hopefully).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#140Graphics(Jam)3.71
#191Innovation(Jam)3.23
#245Fun(Jam)2.98
#279Theme(Jam)3.23
#295Overall(Jam)3.06
#301Mood(Jam)2.83
#362Humor(Jam)1.80
#422Audio(Jam)1.94

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I really wanted to play this because the screenshot looks beautiful, but I am missing some mysterious DLL.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

This looks really awesome, it won't run on my computer though :[

Windows 7 32-bit: When I run the EXE I get a white window saying SDL_app. Then a popup that says LD26.exe has stopped working. It allowed me to click "Debug" after which MSVC opened saying "Unhandled exception at 0x00000000 in LD26.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation." The assembly line it crashed on was "011B711F push dword ptr [esi]". Hopefully something there is helpful...

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I liked the visuals but I really don't understand the point of the game. Am I just trying to destroy as much of the floor as possible?

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I am glad that I found your instructions.txt in the rar file. It is a bit weird that you lose points when destroying blocks. So if you haven't read the instructions you are left wondering what the goal is.
The graphics are beautiful, I really really like the lighting and all that stuff that is going on by the same time. It's a bit hard to avoid bullets if you want to move fast, but that's probably intended :) All in all I really enjoyed this and didn't delete it right away before writing this. I'll definitely play this again to see if I can raise my score :)

thephantom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

sorry the game didnt work :(
it seemed like a very nice gam :(

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15pm

It's a bit unclear how exactly I can destroy the level

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Could not run it at the firt try. It said it was missing MSVCP110.dll and MSVCR110.dll

DalsGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

It's a good game, but really need some music or soundeffects! :)

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Fun! Breaking off parts of the level feels great.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Pretty good graphics, don't really get the point of the actual game.

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Really cool graphics that also fit the theme well. The gameplay feels good, but there is just way too many turrets.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Could have been even better with sounds ! But very nice game !

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

I quite liked the mechanics, but I would prefer some type of designed levelset where you win if you destroy a number of tiles. But that might just be me.

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Looks great. Felt good to cut off a large part of the level. Not sure if goal/scoring makes sense. Could probably be pretty fun with some work: A minimap so you can plan better, less dependency on ammo, maybe.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

Great visuals, man!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

So many cubes!

This quite lovely. Nice work!

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35pm

The turret's bullet trails look really awesome, I found myself just watching the disco floor patterns for a bit. It's a pretty sneaky way to dispatch enemies by removing adjacent floor tiles, I like it!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Didn't fully understand the anchor blocks, as nothing seemed to happen when I released blocks around it. Feels it could be better with some audio, and maybe more things to interact/do or a more 'destructive' feeling.

alcazar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Good job guys, nice entry :)

May 1, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Thanks for the positive feedback! A number of you have commented that the game would be better. The reason I didn't put sounds in is because I've never really worked with sound libraries before and the LD isn't really the environment in which to wrestle with unknown libraries. Also, I'm not a musician. I'll keep it in mind for the next LD though!

Jolle: Yeah, the scoring's a bit *boop*ed. In hindsight I would've gotten rid of the ammo usage penalty altogether (either that or get rid of ammo.) The balancing between the different ways in which you can score points is a bit off, too.
I opted not to give the player a minimap for several reasons: One, I wanted the player to look at the main screen most of the time, not at some map in the corner of the screen. Two, I wanted the player to actually make the choice between planning ahead (which will cost you a couple seconds) or rushing into things (which might make you run into a dead end.)

AestheticGamer: Imagine the anchors as pillars on which the entire world rests. When a block is no longer connected to a pillar, it will collapse.

Rialgar: Originally this would've been a puzzle game that worked with exactly that concept. I chose not to do that, mostly because I didn't have the time to design levels.
I would still like to make that game though...

Alcazar: Thanks! But it's just guy, singular.

Cake&Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Well, it looks absolutely fantastic and fits really well with the minimalism theme visually.

The gameplay itself was a bit obtuse at first and I got stuck once (thanks for the esc button!) but after a bit it was quite enjoyable. Good job :)

Stuffie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Really interesting game, I like the little lighting effect under the block as you move. My only crit would be that sometime the block gets stuck / locked / snapped to the grid a bit too much and makes moving difficult

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Screens look awesome, it didn't run on my windows xp sadly :(

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Notes:

- Window title is "SDL_app"! Easy fix.
- No sound. Sound would be intense.
- Ah, movement is not by tile.
- I like this.
- Hard to see the path of bullets due to the tracer.
- Total score: 1058. Another round.
- Bullet hell!
- Crap. I trapped myself. Total: 1306. Somehow.
- Alright, let's try to cut off entire sections.
- 674. Not doing so well.
- 1820!
- The background is cool. I like it.
- 4714! Woo!

Things I would change:

- Add some sounds. Especially some kind of tense sound when the time is running out.
- Remove or change the bullet tracer effect.

PPLo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:37am

I'm on xp :(

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Had trouble understanding what exactly I needed to do (Even with reading the instructions)

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:26am

Wicked game! I'm not really very good at it, but it rocks

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:48pm

couldn't pick up blocks and got stuck repetitiously in some dead ends. Looks nice tough.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Nice graphics and good camera, but it lacks some feedback when you are hurted.

May 14, 2013 @ 8:35pm

it was pretty fun, and definitely minimal. i understand that u didn't have music libs down, but i could see myself playing this a lot longer if there were a nice chiptune track to go with it! nice work.

gerritg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Gorgeous graphics, nice game play. I would've loved a mode where you can cut off pieces of the level until you die. The only thing missing was the sound ;)

Madball says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:46am

The game is very fun and original, though it could be more polished. Got 19946 points.
Here is what I`d like to see:
* A tutorial. Most people read instructions only when they understand they can`t play. It seems that the map is 2D, so it takes a while to understand how exactly blocks link.
* Jumping. I can destroy just one block and fail the game. Once I cut off a large piece of the map, but didn`t notice one anchor, and couldn`t return.
* Health pickup maybe.
* A minimap, or larger field of view. Not very important, but anyway.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:07am

i did not understand how to remove the blue blocks -- it was very next tho -- perhaps a smaller tutorial level would help -- nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]