April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Darkling Plain

by theomnis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Darkling Plain is a kind actiony-strategy thing, where the goal is to destroy the enemies bases, while protecting yours. It is playable on desktop and mobile browsers that support HTML5, and should run fine except on some of the lowest-end phones.

There is a short 4 level campaign mode, and and an endless arcade mode. Every time a player wins or loses in the campaign, a global score gets updated on the webserver.

The graphics are pretty minimal, and the controls are simple, too. Just click or touch to move around, and you will automatically shoot at nearby enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#325Theme3.77
#383Fun3.17
#447Overall3.27
#543Innovation3.13
#603Humor2.17
#606Mood2.82
#872Graphics2.63
#1080Audio1.25

Comments

Elrobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

Was difficult but cool. I liked the little touch of hills slowing you down.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

Looks good, I really wish there was a bit more to dying. I didn't get any audio, and it was rough trying to defend your base when it only takes one hit from a rampaging enemy to obliterate it.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

Yeah, there is no audio, as HTML5 is a beast with getting it to work. Also, don't forget that enemy bases are just as vulnerable. Thanks for the feedback!

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

This is a solid game and I enjoyed playing it. I like the quotes, but usually I was still clicking the moment after death so it was easy to click past the loss message.

Nickardson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Hard as nails, but pretty cool.
Nice game!

ned366 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Awesome game! Super fun to play. Minimal controls and graphics were spot on. I player this game with one hand, while drinking coffee with the other...on a train. (Android phone, android browser) played both campaign and arcade: liked campaign more. Lots of action and the pacing of the bullets and troops was great! It really created a fun tension with minimal game elements. Nicely Done!

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Awesome game. I like that you added two game modes as well.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

That's a really neat set of mechanics! I very much enjoyed this one. One thing: I never get to read the quotes after i die because I'm still clicking when they come up. You need to turn off input for 2 seconds or something like that.

well done!

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Interesting design, quite amusing

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Cool stuff, well done! :)

GustavGMD says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Great design. Seriously, i loved it. The hills slowing you down, the trees and it's stealth mechanics... And for a bright closure: minimalistic RTS gameplay. Bravo.

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

The best strategy is definitely to capture the bases in the middle of the map to spawn your blue legion. This brilliantly captures the minimalist theme and manages to pack in a lot of gameplay. Good job.

daydalus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12am

I like the style you have here, and the color theme. thought it was interesting to move around and not worry about shooting. Pretty impressive you got two game modes in there. Would be good to have some indication of which army is winning in campaign mode.

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

WOW man, really awesome game, the feeling, the controls, like, really responsive, the simplicity in it is great, feels like doing the thing without doing, very nice =D

jus didnt loke the trees!

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice - had fun with this. A bit on the difficult side - especially separating out bullets from hills/trees visually - but a pretty solid RTS-lite.

rezoner says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

Great idea! Feels like Cannon Fodder mixed with Armor Alley. Hope to see it improving.

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:40am

Cool game, hard and fast paced!

littleball says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Addictive! I found I kept on going until I had one. It was harsh, but not unfair.

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I love the quotes you put, it added depth to the game. The game is actually pretty fun and dying in one hit adds a lot to the intensity. Also cool that you keep tabs on which color is winning. Come on, blue team!

Overall I enjoyed this! The idea of keeping tabs on team score is really cool.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Nice game, had fun to play although sometimes a bit difficult

Beldarak says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:18am

Great game. I used to click all the time and usually skip by accident the end text that says if you win or lose. Except this little detail it a lot of fun.

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:38am

Quite a good game with some surprising in-depth mechanics despite the simple graphics.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

Pretty cool minimal game. I dig it. The most fun I had pressing just holding down one button. Great Job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]