April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Defense

by agmcleod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple game. I loved the jokes going around with the potato theme, so i had to include an element of that. I tried to keep most of the art about simple geometric shapes, and the mechanics to be relatively obvious.

Basically you just have to shoot down the projectiles and get to 10,000 points. Once you do that and destroy the remaining projectiles, you win! Please vote and let me know what you think!

Unzip the file, and run the jar via command line:

java -jar ld26.jar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#220Humor2.86
#448Fun3.10
#498Audio2.79
#759Theme3.33
#975Overall2.77
#1010Innovation2.45
#1097Mood2.26
#1266Graphics1.97

Comments

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Simple and quite challenging!

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Why not include assets into the jar and read it as Classpath Ressources ?

AyCe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:06pm

First game I've played so far. Nice idea.
Also, Java ftw :D

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

The screenshots don't do it justice! Although quite simple, I was surprised at how challenging it is to hit the boxes. A fun game, and just the right difficulty!

agmcleod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

@davidB it's something i still need to learn to do properly. I think i'll research into setting that up. Thanks for the suggestion :)

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

That was a pretty fun game to play and surprisingly challenging

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Was rather easy!

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Simple and effective :)

aare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Wow, I won lol!

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Score 10400 =D

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Simple yet fun and cool music.

Topaz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nice work! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:19am

LOL Disguised as a potato! Woooo got me 9600 before the enemy ran out of ammo...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]