April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kazimir's Revenge

by Alex Shestakov - Jam Entry

You play as a young Kazimir, who came into modern art to reform it and turn every classic painting into a cute black square.
So minimalistic, right?
Let's start with Botticelli's "The Birth of Venus", but beware, those painted figures will struggle to keep their forms less edgy!
May the Square be with you.


CONTROLS:

* ARROWS to move.
* SPACE to jump (and double jump and even wall-jump).
* SHIFT to run.
* X to use your brush and spawn a tiny piece of art flying forward (literally: FIRE).


CREDITS:

The game developed by KISS team during Omsk Ludum Dare 48 hours Jam (OLD48):
* Alex Shestakov and Natalia Rozvezeva as developers.
* Stepan Zalezkiy as graphical artist.
* Artem Patyn as composer / sound designer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#81Humor(Jam)3.13
#95Fun(Jam)3.43
#115Audio(Jam)3.46
#215Theme(Jam)3.43
#218Overall(Jam)3.29
#228Graphics(Jam)3.37
#236Mood(Jam)3.07
#311Innovation(Jam)2.82

Comments

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

It's generally fun, but definitely too short, it would be great if there were more paintings. I really liked the music.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Fun, controls are a little hard, but I like the idea! Great job.

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Too much gameplay...

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Just wish the level was bigger, or there was another level. Good music, but I wish there were sounds for the enemies when they get hit. Over a bit too quick.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Great music and fun to play. Awesome.

ColdBrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

Very cool! Омску превед!)))

Dyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Very fun)

brantkings says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Awesome game! Loved it! It felt like a Castlevania boss! Nice work!

TheCze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Nice idea but I think a lil bit too short.

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26pm

REALLY cool idea and execution! Loved it! Great job!

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Really great everything except for gameplay. The menus, music and the framing (no pun intended) of the game was nice, but when you actually gain control it's quite loose and floaty. Though it was a very nice surprise to fight Venus in a videogame, gotta give you that!

stefan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I like the game and the idea that you can hide behind the remains of defeated enemies. Its a nice game, but very short...

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:22pm

lol, crazy game, i like ti

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Hey this is really well made. Good music, great action. I can't tell if I beat the level or just died.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Do you think he would be offended? Lol.

Threef says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Avesome idea! Great humor! Theme! Graphics!(?)... but short. :(

headchant says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Really fun little game.

hissssssssss says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I enjoyed the movement in this game. The double-jumping and firing felt really natural.
Too bad there's only one level, I would have loved to tackle more paintings.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:20am

The Win32 mode said it was missing a data folder.

May 11, 2013 @ 1:25pm

A fun game, wish there were more levels(paintings)though.
The music was nice but the gameplay was a bit on the rough side, could use with a bit more polish.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:43pm

So I beat the game, not as rewarding as I expected, but at least it had a nice mood to it! The game itself is pretty hard and ended up dying many times. I'm not sure if there were multiple levels or if I kept replaying the same one. Anyways, it had good smooth animations, unique painting humor, and a catchy soundtrack.

cakemonitor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:46pm

great use of music. extra levels / replayability would be good

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]