April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fiyahfawl

by skintkingle - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT:
Windows only, please confirm you have XNA 4.0 installed before attempting to run.

Fiyahfawl is a spin-off 2d minimalist graphics idea spin off from the up and coming MMO Firefall.

Unfortunately life got in the way again and we only had possibly 2 days of work on it. There is no main menu, pause menu or ending, but these will be released in a post-compo version as i know how annoying not being able to pause is.
(Protip enter the shop for a dirty pause of everything but the item cycle)

The basics:

WASD to move,
scroll wheel to change equipped item. (see top box)
Left click to use selected item.

The Tikihut at spawn is a shop, press "e" to go into the shop. you will see upgrades and items in the top half of the screen, the first 5 minutes will have pre-defined starting gear, After that the gear will randomise stats/cost every 5 minutes Borderlands style!

Grab yourself a thumper and a scan hammer and get thumping for Crystite (cy). use your scan hammer to find resources in the land and then call a thumper down on that spot to reap the rewards.

Thumpers Stat explanation:
As those of you who have not played Firefall will be unfamilliar with this game item concept.
The thumpers duration is how long the thumper will be down thumping resources for.
The thumpers volume will attract more monsters the louder it is.
The thumper hp is the obvious one ;)

Get down with the time lapse
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9zCTDGtSb4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#291Humor(Jam)2.05
#430Audio(Jam)1.83
#439Fun(Jam)2.39
#443Mood(Jam)2.38
#448Theme(Jam)2.71
#455Overall(Jam)2.65
#472Innovation(Jam)2.26
#477Graphics(Jam)2.42

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

There is a bug where you can't pick up the money/resources that drop in front of the shop and what does the hammer thing do? I use it on rocks and it tells me there are resources there but i dont get them.

skintkingle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37am

Hi silentspartan72, I see you didn't read the instructables in the entry description. Let me paraphrase for you:

"Grab yourself a thumper and a scan hammer and get thumping for Crystite (cy). use your scan hammer to find resources in the land and then call a thumper down on that spot to reap the rewards. "

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

I am assuming this is partially randomly generated, which is cool, but I felt there was a lot missing from the title. I got an axe, but after that I went exploring and got too far from the shop to head back. I think there would be a better way to make this more fun/engaging, and to lead the player. The randomly generated world is cool, but also having no shops makes it no worthwhile to really go out and adventure into it.

skintkingle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16am

I will be making a video tonight to highlight the first steps in the game. I've realised today that only people who've played firefall would fall easily into this game. haha.

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I instantly remembered this when I read the name:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjSloTj4VB8&feature=youtu.be&t=43s

I played this for a surprisingly long time, like an hour. It was pretty fun. The big issue I have with it is that you have to walk all the way back to the spawn.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Ah - I didn't read the instructions properly either. I gets it now. Fantastic graphics!

brantkings says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Cool game! Loved te style and graphics. The gameplay is nice too. Just wish I could get cy faster...

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50pm

My graphics card sucks, so it wouldn't let me run it D:

skintkingle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Hi EatenAlive3, I done this last time and forgot to compile for Reach instead. Try again matey :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Nice graphic style, runs well. Very cool how you call down the thumper to collect resources. I think you should make the gun fire faster, even if it still ultimately does the same rate of damage. I also couldn't help but notice that his back arm is very... awkwardly placed. You would probably be better off not rendering the back arm at all.

bushmango says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:31am

Every starter thing costs too much :( It was nifty but maybe you should have started with the right starting gear? I bought the wrong thing twice and had to restart. Also it took forever to get enough money to buy anything. But I like the concept and the random weapons :)

skintkingle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:58am

A bit of an intro video and isntructables alongside time lapses.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9zCTDGtSb4

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Had some problems figuring out the resource system, what does "2,8" mean? Is that better than 1,9? I'm not sure if I suck at gathering resources or if it's supposed to take this long :(

Other than that, it's the start of a really fun little game! It's cool to explore and find resource rich areas and defend the thumpers from enemies. The graphics work and the world seems like it's pretty dangerous and interesting

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Oh you have weapons? XD I tried killing enemies by swinging my mouse around my character like a maniac to swing his little arm. Like the gaphics.

skintkingle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

DaanVanYperen, we were messing around with that at one point, but it was too buggy and didn't get put in. We thought it would be hilarious to punch an ahrana across the map though. lol Maybe it'll make it into a post compo version.

guyverdan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:14pm

hi Typedeaf the resources are scored from 0.0 up to 10.0 the higher the number the more crysite you will earn from one thump. A level 10 will bring in over 800 whilst a 1.0 will be under 100cy

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:43pm

A strange but good game. There does not seem to be an ending to it, is it procedurally generated? I ended up a LONG WAY from the shop.

skintkingle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:28am

The landscape layout is procedurally generated yes, So you can walk to the theoretical data limit of a 32bit integer in terms of x coordinate.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Funny graphics, i like the concept of this game, good job :D

Norgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:24pm

A really good start to something with the deformable generated landscape, but it's soooo grindy at the moment and could do with more variation as you move away from home to make that grind feel worth it. The combat starts out really easy too, even with the starting pistol and nothing else I never felt at risk of dying.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:41am

Screenshots look nice, unfortunately I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

HelkeGames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Very cool game, well done! :)

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Lots of instructions, looks difficult. . BOOH! (look at my own game) . . Oh actually it looks pretty straight forward ;)

I hated those critters but liked how I could shoot behind me, but still run forward. Very convenient :)
I would have liked a bit of music in the background.
I'm not sure how it fits in with the theme though.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:05am

It is a very zx spectrum game indeed :)
Which is to my likings of course.
Nice grapohics give a boost to the overall effect and climate of the game, shame there is no sounds though :(

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:36am

The level generation is pretty cool. I just had a tought time talking to the shop keeper and attacking the enenmies.

GarethIW says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:01am

This was a pretty ambitious game for a jam, so congrats! I enjoyed what I played of it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]