April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Hit The Core

by TheSarcastic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About the game:
Try to hit the pieces around the core when they are not green. Hitting three green pieces is game over, oh and also, don't hit the core :P

Controls
- Mouse to click

If you wanna check my other works: www.isfuturebright.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#748Innovation2.89
#840Graphics2.67
#917Theme3.15
#1029Humor1.48
#1036Audio1.52
#1065Mood2.32
#1183Overall2.49
#1225Fun2.08

Comments

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

Please include source code.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Haha cool game! Sometimes it felt like it didn't react when I clicked but that might be my mousepad acting out..! Good job! ^^

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:11am

Neat concept! Liki Kiwiboi, I felt the clicks were a little unresponsive at times. Still, great visuals and solid project!

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Hey, this has a really cool look and feel to it. Fits the theme really well. But.. the raycasting didn't seem to work properly? There were always a couple of pieces which didn't work, no matter how many times I played.

Cool looking entry nonetheless.

Jiyko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Nice visuals! Unity maker respects unity maker :)

berareu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Sometimes the clicks didn't register and I'm not really sure what was going on. It's a nice idea though!

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Nice idea! Unfortunately, some block appears to be unclickable and i can't finish a level. There are more than one?

daniel2357 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Like infernet i could'nt finish the level. but overall a very nice level.

escence says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Unfortunately I couldn't finish the game, the last two blocks were unclickable. Nevertheless nice idea and good work :)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Guys, thanks for the feedbacks! I couldn't finish the level on time. So that's why there's no win-los condition.

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I had 5 green ones I was waiting to turn white for a while until I got bored. It might need to update it's toggling based on what you have left to click. Otherwise it was not bad, and could get interesting with more variation to the levels with increased difficulty.

lanz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Nice idea and goof work. Sadly no win/lose conditions.

stefan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

This game has really nice graphics. Sometimes I can't click everything and there is nothing happening when all squares are blue, but anyway I like your work.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00pm

@PixelOaks I'm with you there!

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Unclickable pieces makes the game _just a tad_ frustrating, but otherwise a fun idea :) Might be a good fit for mobile or tablets?

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Nice idea, but needs a lot more work. Go for it!

metadept says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Interesting idea. I noticed a couple of bugs such as being unable to click on white pieces sometimes, and the last piece remaining green forever. I definitely like the visual style/layout though. Hope to see more development on this!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Solid idea yet without any additional mechanics there is little the keep me playing.
You could try some of these:
-Score system
-Time limit
-Randomization
-Speed alteration
-AI opponent

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

This really stuck to minimalism! I really liked the visuals.

Khaldrin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11pm

The concept is interesting and fits the theme. However as already stated some tiles were unclickable and the responsiveness of the whole game could be improved. But cool idea anyways.

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I like the design and the look of the game. It is quite hard to hit some of the blocks...

Angerus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I find the concept interesting but I do feel it miss a little something like a score system or some event changing the state of the world! Anyway, a cool concept!

May 1, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I got dizzy playing this, for real. Couldn't figure out how to win/lose. Also please include a link to your scripts otherwise you risk disqualification from the compo.

Boiúna says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:38am

Nice idea and graphics =D. But it seems that the game is impossible to be finalized.

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:40am

Nice concept, very unresponsive at points though. If there was some form of audio feedback or confirmation of a correct action vs a mistake (just for clarity's sake) it would definitely help this a fair amount. Could make for an interesting expanded concept.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:49am

Thanks for the comments all :D Working on some improvements!

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:53am

After while the green blocks don't un-green, so it doesn't look like this is finish-able. Nice idea though!

kyyninen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Neat! It was kind of unclear if there was an achievable end state...

Broxxar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Interesting idea but it seems a bit buggy, couldn't click on all the tiles and after clicking the core it seems you have to refresh to replay.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:02am

Thanks for all the feedback. Added new version!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:11am

Really neat puzzle game. The first Unity link didn't work for me, however the Version 2.0 ran with no problems. I'll admit, I hit the core!

May 5, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Was anything supposed to happen when you click a green block? Nothing was happening at all for me. White blocks turned blue, and the core would turn red, if I clicked on those... but nothing happened with the green ones.

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Very cool concept. I was baffled at first because I did not read the instructions. If you hit the core, should it restart the game?

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Ok so in version 2.0 when you hit the the green ones 3 times, you lose the game.

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Ended with one green block. Is it the end? Overall, good job!

baldwinthree says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very original. Unfortunately once I hit the core I couldn't continue, and there's no lose screen. Good job!

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I won.. I guess :)

I'll rate you based on the compo version and then I'll try version 2.

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Version 2 is more finished but I think it still lacks of some mechanic to make it fun. Something like a puzzle, maybe.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:20am

@Oye Beto thanks for playing :) still working on it! Hope to get new version up.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:40am

Nice concept, will be really cool once the kinks are worked out. Good job!

May 7, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Props for using Unity for this as it is a perfect fit for the idea you had here. Pretty fun to play too!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Great innovation! Simple mechanic and hard game. Nice job!

TheSarcastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:14am

Hey all! Added some new stuff. A nice hud that indicates how many hits you have left and the time constrain feature so that you have to be quicler and more precise. Cheers!

foxter888 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:14pm

yes it's a good simplistic game, it is a bit weird in the beggining since it's a very original idea to get used to.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]