April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries


by alexfalkenberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mag. Because it was supposed to evoke magnetism in some interesting ways initially. Instead, mostly, I present to you a simple shooter. There is some difficulty progression that's playable, and a little more under the hood for future use.

Tried to stick to a simple LCD palette, but went off-palette a few times. Extremely simple. Nothing fancy. But done. First completion in time, yay!

CONTROLS: Arrows or analog stick move. A key or A button fire. (gamepad really is best for this game)

Gamepad has a couple debug controls: Y will clear all current bullets. Holding right trigger then pressing left trigger should restart the current level... Level restart is a bit buggy; use at your own risk. ;)

PLEASE TRY IT BEYOND THE FIRST COUPLE LEVELS! The first two are easy on purpose. It gets harder, fast. Please note there are only five levels in this version...but I challenge anyone to get through Level 5!

TONS of other weird issues remain. There's a bigger game hiding in this with time, I think. There's also a certain madness to the shooting/bulletry.

This submitted version has 5 levels. Can you get through them all? Level 5 is TOUGH!

Please give feedback, and VOTE/RATE!

All versions should now be available: Web, Windows, OSX, Linux32, and Linux64 versions. And source via GitHub, of course.

Linux64 version link is: http://alexfalkenberg.com/ld26/mag-linux64.zip

OSX and Linux versions are totally untested. Please resize/maximize the game window in at least the Win32 version; it defaults to a super-TINY window size.


Downloads and Links




KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

Simple yet fun. Good use of the theme.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

Really psychotic experience! :)

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

I really enjoy the camera effects.

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

Once figured out how to shoot it started being fun :P

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Yeah, I ran out of time trying to put some controls info in there. PRESS A, PEOPLE. ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

(and btw, thanks for all the kind words so far!)

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

Interesting graphics. I like the swirling particles. The gameplay is kind of lacking and it's pretty easy to kill the turrets but overall good job.

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

That was certainly intense. Has a ton of trippy-bullet-game potential.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Thanks again for the feedback!

Zathalos: I ran out of time adding enemy elements. I had two more specific types in mind, but time...

And there IS progressive difficulty and scoring, but I had no time to test how well it all ramped up. Turret range increases, damage increases, turning speed of the turrets increases, and I wanna say rate of fire actually increases. All of that likely needs better levels and tons of tweaking.

Did you (or anyone, heh) make it through level 5? It's turret hell. I can barely do it myself (I've done it...twice? in probably 100 plays).

Oh, and once you complete level 5, the game will just... not go anywhere (it's expecting a non-existent level 6 to transition to). So you're stuck just driving around playing with the firing until you restart (the hard way, no time for a menu or anything....yet).

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

So much Destruction! I love it. It's extremely satisfying to be shooting and whirling around that many bullets. Controls using a gamepad felt really nice. Only made it to level 4 on my many ties. The difficulty does ramp up pretty quick

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

onzephyr: Thanks! I definitely think it's best with a pad. I hope people realize they have some control over the bullets... it may really only feel right swirling things around with a pad, though, and not as much with the keyboard.

And the difficulty... yeah, it needs work. Level 5 is basically impossible. 4 isn't terribly easy, either. And it's not just the number of turrets that up the difficulty, although that is a pretty major factor in the levels I presented. ;)

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I love the effects on this one, and is fun, my speedrun of level 1 an 2 is hit A + forward key :P

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Totally tutorial levels, 1 and 2. ;)

ming_tea says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

A really fun shooter!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

This has some nice potential, but i´m not sure what i just played. ;)

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Like the hectic nature, would like to see more colors to give new feedback results for the player.

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15pm

That was a great experience :D Great design too!

Puccini says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

A great game! It's simple and fun.
I hate the shoot sound. But I like the mechanics and the use of the theme.

mortus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:26am

Quite fun, though I couldn't see much happening on the screen, just was looking at where the new cannons are most of the time. Levels 1-4 are not too different from each other in means of difficulty, but level 5 is instantly much harder, couldn't beat it.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Awesome feedback, thanks again everyone! I plan on updating this once judging is over, so every bit of criticism, good or bad, is definitely appreciated. :)

McFunkypants says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:50am

Pretty damn awesome! I had absolutely no idea where any enemy bullets were, though, so for me dying was completely random and unexpected. Somehow, I still loved it. GREAT WORK!

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Cool game, liked it! Only got to level 5 once, the shooting felt great after a while (the shooting sound was a bit annoying though).

May 2, 2013 @ 6:14pm

The shooting sound IS annoying. The problem is I picked a decent-enough shooting sound, but then I decided not to throttle the player bullet fire at all; I was going for maximum mayhem, after all, heh.

Anyway, it's fixable, I think. :)

Turret bullets could be a bit more visible, too, I agree.

Thanks again!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:54am

lots of bullets, or whatever they were -- nice entry

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:41am

When figured out how to shoot it went from really hard to fun. :)

ataxkt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Good fun on gamepad! Gets hard to see whats going on fast though.

May 12, 2013 @ 5:21am

Thanks again for the plays, ratings, and comments, everyone!

foyosoft says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Who doesn't love a bullet-hell shooter?

mildmojo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:33am

Nice animation, great palette.

I played the web version, but the input handler has a bug where it doesn't prevent keys from bubbling up to the browser and triggering built-in features. On the key event objects, the javascript needs to call .stopPropagation() and .preventDefault(). In my case, pressing 'a' popped open my typeahead find, taking focus away from the game and eating all further keystrokes.

May 17, 2013 @ 2:11pm

@foyosoft: Don't we all? :)

@mildmojo: Weird; and the first I've heard of that, but good to know. I probably could have done some input throttling as well (I didn't), which might help. Could also be a side effect of the engine itself. I appreciate you playing and letting me know!

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]