April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist Dungeon

by EatenAlive3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Navigate your way through Minimalist Dungeon!

If you can brave the monsters, you're in for a tough boss fight, and a mystery reward.

Controls: [WASD] to move, [/] to use special attack, [shift] to heal, and [enter] to shoot arrows.

Please allow some time on the Web version if your internet is slow -- it is a 4MB applet. If it doesn't work, try the .jar!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#198Fun3.44
#223Overall3.53
#325Graphics3.38
#328Audio3.08
#354Theme3.75
#372Humor2.53
#398Mood3.10
#675Innovation2.98

Comments

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

Nicely done! Only thing I wish I had were ammo powerups for the arrows.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

I got pretty involved early game - except for those helper texts.
It took my quite a while to beat level 6. The ammo runs out quickly. But yeah, I do miss a handful of shots :(
Other than that I enjoyed it! Played several runs.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Try to use the passive attack where possible in order to save more arrows.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

(Glad you enjoyed! Haha)

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Horrible, horrible music! Though I rated audio very high. I guess it's horribly beautiful! :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Hahaha! Thanks for the rating. I will work on composing for the next LD :P

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

cool graphics! a bit hard but i had very much fun :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Neat game. Good use of theme. Music, while not great, was good at setting the mood. Overall good job!

shard123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Loved your entry! It was the perfect difficulty level and a ton of fun to play, the music was a little hard on the ears but everything else was great so it made up for it.

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:54am

I really loved your take on the theme. Super minimal :)

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Cool audio, makes it quite a dramatic dungeon crawler. Curse you, red cubes!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Dont like the controls, so crazy / for attack, enter for shoot :/. I get some fun. Good game

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:35pm

An enjoyable simple dungeon crawl, very much so.
I, for one, appreciated the musical choice, while the sounds could have used a bit more work.
The only tangible problem for me was the special key "\" which on my keyboard is behind a function key, so another key, say Control, would have been a better candidate.

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Great game! i love it, i like classic music, and Bach is one of my favorite pianist, but after i while was annoying to me this music probably because i had headphones and was too pitchy

Xanjos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Quite possibly the best minimalist dungeon crawler I have ever played :D

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Square kept moving right for me. No idea

evilDan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:20am

That was AWESOME! Very nice game!

May 5, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Good and funny way to interpret the theme. I'd enjoyed play this game! The music is a little bit sad maybe, but the graphics is very cool!! Well done!

manax says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Nicely done. Small bug with collision detection (I could often pass one cell into "doorways"). Agreed, could have used some arrow recharge mechanism. On every new level, I had to hunt for my character... Nice that it had a built in "tutorial".

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Wow, it was pretty difficult, but a nice challenge. I managed to beat the boss after a couple of tries.

I felt that some levels were basically "rush to the exit"

Also! Avoid putting commands on the shift key - for people using windows, pressing the shift key multiple times brings up the "accessibility options menu"

Thanks for the game!

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I couldn't figure out what to do after I ran out of arrows, there didn't seem to be any way not to use them up fighting guys. But I love the look of it, and I love the speed of the movement. Really fun.

Cyboot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Good game. I like the block grapics.
Also I enjoyed playing a java game again (really the first java game I saw this time except mine :D)

I will watch your timelapse later but I already saw that you created the music yourself (with LMMS, thats cool). So some bonus in rating for really sticking to the compo rules!

Nice job!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Thanks everyone! :D

anjack says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:25pm

That was absolutely unparalleled! My favorite game so far!

May 9, 2013 @ 12:03am

VERY FUN GAME BRO nice work :D

theomnis says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Got stuck on level 6, too.

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:55am

"Buttons open doors" = shit just got real!

Very nice. Liked the music, too:)

rzfmzn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Loved it!
Gratz!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]