April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism

by _Milligan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

All is fair in love and, minimalistic, war! Survive as long as you can and get the highest score possible, but beware a single hit will send you right back to the start screen.

Making Minimalism was a blast, and i hope you enjoy playing it as much as i enjoyed making it.

P.S. To everyone who watched the live-stream, thanks for showing up.

Tools : Monogame + Visual Studio 2010, Gimp, Paint.NET, SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

gamesaucer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

This game is awesome.

The concept is quite great, and the game is more difficult than it seems.

It is quite fun to play, but unfortunately gets old after a few runs.

The theme is met quite well, although the simplicity is taken to a more defined level. I am personally a fan of that approach, because it can make things look better than they otherwise would have looked.

That brings us to the graphics, which look stunning in their simplicity.

The audio gets old after a while, but is pretty okay, especially in the beginning.

The game is quite humorous, the squares rotating all over the place do not fail to make me smile.

The game fits together quite well, too, which makes is deserve a high overall rating.

gamesaucer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17am

This game is awesome and needs more love.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Well, it doesn't even want to start on my Win XP laptop. :(

numpad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Great game! The floor-cells look awesome. Gets gard after some time, but not impossible. Love it!
PS: Also watched the livestream :P

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Good game. Would be nice to see the score after you die. Sometimes I'm not looking up at the title and I do not get the high score and have no idea how well I did.

Bzaraticus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

Love the game, good to see what you came up with after watching your stream for the last few days.

donan says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice game. There is too much movement for minimalism, but the game itself its fun.

KevinPybus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Was around for the whole 48 hours. Was a lot of fun and was a really great build.

This game is fun to play, easy to control, and hard to master. The game style and controls are quite nice.

Meets all my requirements for a fun minimal game for sure. It even has a potato.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]